Posting your rating...
Penny Blue XO Batch 002 rum

Penny Blue XO Batch 002

Mauritius | Aged

5.4/10 (8 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
1
2
1

Rate Penny Blue XO Batch 002

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Penny Blue XO Batch 002 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

This is a quality presentation and product all around. I hated to even remove the nice wax seal to begin with. The bottle, the label, the color of the rum, the story, the location and the production all make for a first rate package deal. Immediately on opening it had a great smell. It really didn’t need much airing out time. It’s bottled at 43.2% alcohol. Nice little bite with a light, perhaps “fruity” note from the cognac casks, but rounded out with the bourbon and whiskey casks. Not too much oak. It’s non chill filtered, which maintains flavor. It really has everything going for it. I would never mix this or even add water. I love this! Apparently impressions are personal and different for everyone but this is fantastic for me. No added sugar to mask a faulty, cheap product. No added color, you can tell on both points. There were only 4 bottles left in my area. Now there are 3. There may soon be 2.
Just thought I’d add that the oldest rum in this blend is 11 years old. This would account for the less oaky flavor than Kirk & Sweeney 23. After my K&S 23 settled down a bit, it seems to be all that’s left is the oak. Not that that’s bad, but that’s why I was going to try K&S 18 next. Maybe a more subtle oak. I just happened to get this Penny Blue #2 first. I’ll still try the 18, but I really love this!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Underdog from United States with 18 ratings

I had high Hope's for this one, but was left wanting something more. Light in color and body. Alcoholic burnt carmel on the nose. Upon tasting, slight burn that fades quickly then transitions to brown sugar, light oak, light orange zest then disappears. You are left waiting for something else, but nothing else comes. It wants to be whiskey, bourbon and rum. Neither wins.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by CSG from United States with 31 ratings

Had Batch 002. I found it absolutely overwhelmingly flavored by the barrels and citrus peel, specifically undesirable grapefruit, masking the supposed glory of this rum, its natural sweetness. I could still taste that undertone, but there was so much dominance by the barrels and peel that it led to a lack of complexity. This didn’t taste like rum and was not even close to worth its price tag. There was enough to make me want to try other batches but certainly not to pay for them.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Moberg from Germany with 9 ratings

Taste is different. Flavoured tastily, but as well harsh and burning. Not my cup of tea, end up in a long drink....sorry for that!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

This rum is meant to be a single estate rum so I imagine that the flavour profile to be different from the usual manufactured company's ... Sadly I was disappointed

Small download

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 260 ratings

Expected very dry stuff, but is was more to my taste with the molasses flavor playing bigger part.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I didn't much care for this. It has some decent qualities and I think some people would like it, but it tasted a bit whisky-like to me and also maybe a bit like cognac. I would drink it but it would never be a rum that I'd buy, though I'd imagine that some would love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

First sip went down my windpipe LOL.
High proof rum with great color and flavor. Similar to batch #1 but I think I like this one just a bit more.