Posting your rating...
Foursquare Triptych rum

Rate Foursquare Triptych

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Foursquare Triptych ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Richard Seal proposes an assembly of 3 vintages 2004,2005 and 2006. They have been aged in ex-bourbon barrel (2004), Madeira barrel (2005), or new American barrel 2006). It has a beautiful amber color. On the nose are exotic fruits, woodland, cigar box or even sandalwood. After a while pastry notes arrive with gingerbread, toast, very greedy. On the palate, there are nuts and this pastry side that remains well present. It is very sweet with a certain complexity but the 2005 vintage gives me too much sweetness. Very nice blend. Real rate = 7,5

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

It's mesmerising! One of the best run we've ever had. A trully fantastic taste. Good job Richard Seale! congratulations!

Posted 4 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Plenty of oak to tease, resin, floral and comes with lots of weight. Sugar soaked cotton, wood varnish and herb-y with mineral underlay. (88/22)

P- Polish, resin and grounded spices of nutmeg. Ginseng roots tea with pinch of salts or olive brine and tiny spoon of passionfruit. (90/22)

F- Long, definitely superior, overwhelming oak with resinous popping up almost everywhere that evolved to herbaceous. Dry. (89/22)

B/B- 90/22

Weighted Rate- 88pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Posted over 1 year ago by RumRaider from United States with 2 ratings

So... I was looking for a bottle, or two, of Foursquare Criterion because of all the hype and I just wanted to try something different. With no luck finding a full bottle of Criterion, I purchased 3cl samples of both Criterion and Triptych from Europe. I was also looking to buy a bottle of Triptych which was never available in the US and seemed all but impossible online. But, I was in Europe recently and found four bottles... so I bought all of them and I am glad I did.
In comparison to Criterion, Triptych is a significantly superior rum. Neither of these rums are a value to the novice rum sipper nor a good option for a person who isn't well versed in appreciating spirits neat (although you can certinaly use them in cocktail... if you like). Criterior (7.5 - 8) is very good but Triptych (9 - 10) is special. I give Triptych a rating of 9+. It is hard to compare this rum with those from other producers but, in terms of quality and complexity, I have not experienced a superior rum. With Triptych, we are definitely entering a realm in which rums cannot be manufactured at a higher quality and any assessment of the spirit is based on the overall personal experience. Simply put... you either love it or you hate it.

Notes:
A very nice blend of stones fruits; Light Smoke; Light Oak; some Earthy notes; Light Sweetness; Light Brine (salt); Good complexity; some black licorice; well-rounded and dense without being like syrup; high ABV with a pleasant numbing effect rather than a sharp burn which I assume is do to a high oil content helping to mellow the burn.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Very well blend with 3 different Casks. Fruitiness from the Bourbon and Madeira Casks and woodiness from Virgin Oak Cask which complement each other well.

It burns a little on the nose, probably it was newly open and it turns out to be softer after a couple of minutes. Woody with sweet baking spices and fruitiness of coconut flesh and water.

Tannic and nutty on the palate with bite of pepper corn. Touch of bitterness of earthy wood chips and buttery. It has an acidity of port wine which I've aged in 5L virgin charred cask.

Finish up with coco and pineapple. High in tannin and again fruitiness of dried fruits and peach.

Posted over 2 years ago by Quin from Germany with 25 ratings

Ich habe zwar noch keine Massen an Rums probiert, jedoch so einige und vor allem eher die sehr hochwertigen. Ich finde hier keine Fehlnoten, er ist nicht übertrieben süß und ich habe schöne Aromen vom Fass bzw. von den Fässern. Das Madeirafinish ist eine schöne Abwechslung. Der erste Rum, den ich jemals gekauft habe und der mich bekehren konnte.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Nothing to comment about it. This is no. 1 if u have the chance, take it! :))) awesome...

Posted 7 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This stuff is very off the hook to say the least. I picked up a bottle in Rome found it in a cellar that was over 300BC which in of itself was an experience to say the least. Anyhow, this is very alcohol forward, a bit funky presenting dark fruits, leather, tobacco and has a long lasting finish. When i opened it initially i would have rated it a 7 but now that it has sat a bit it is fantastic! I use Argon to preserve my rum from oxidization and in this case i am shocked because the improvement is way more than i expected. There are only 5000 bottles made so stand by to pay a chunk of money. Anyhow best wishes!

Posted 10 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 250 ratings

Nice complex aroma. First taste sweet with warm tones. Perfect ballance between sweet and dry side. Perfect level of alcohol (56%) to highligt the character but not kill the mouth with burnining. Long aftertaste with wood and earth tones.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Suuuuper lækker rom... varm blød og man lægger slet ikke mærke til de høje procenter

Posted about 2 years ago by themoderndiplomat from United States with 5 ratings

Great. Foursquare offerings can be on the lighter side, but this bottling takes a lot from the Madeira which darkens the palate and adds a layer of density. A gem.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Interesting blend of 3 vintages aged in different barrels, what marvelous stuff! A True collectors item at 5400 bottles produced. well worth trying if you manage to find it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tommy from Denmark with 14 ratings

Worth the money.
A lot og karakter. Beatiful color, and Nice flawor in the sweet end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Rhum Velier is a series of "Heavy Rums" with long storage, where the dropped by cask strength.

Posted over 2 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Heerlijke rum gedestilleerd door Foursquare van Barbados en gedistribueerd door Velier uit Italië. Mix van copper double retort pot still en traditional twin column rum; 2004 Bourbon, 2005 Madeira and 2007 nieuw eiken, gebotteld in november 2016.
Abv: 56% maar goed drinkbaar.
Smaak: Karamel, vanille, tropisch fruit en hout.

Posted over 2 years ago by Baccius from Italy with 13 ratings

...................................................

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

I really enjoyed this one, due to its heavyness and complexity

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Virkelig lækker rom - kompleks og nuanceret - klart en must have

Posted over 2 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Le nez est beurré et fruité, mais sans se mélanger grossièrement et donnant l’impression de sniffer une tarte aux fruits et crème pâtissière. C’est fin, délicat et je n’ai pas cette sensation de gras trop gourmand que je trouve dans certains rhums de la Barbade. Le fruit dominant me semble être la pomme acidulé... L’alcool est très bien intégré et laisse la place à une note épicée et vanillée.
L’attaque est douce, un peu huileuse, poivrée, très légèrement boisée et vanillée. En fait tout se mélange très bien et il n’y a pas vraiment de saveur qui prend le dessus sur les autres.
La finale est longue, légèrement vanillée, mentholée et avec toujours des notes fruitée (le genre qui laisse l’impression d’avoir but un nectar de poire/pêche/abricot juste avant la dégustation).

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Dejlig rom. God fyldig smag og en god balance mellem alkohol og smag.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

One of my favourites rum at the moment. Love the blend of 3 different casks as each cask really adds something to the rum. Only downside is its availability.




#