Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Label rum

Kraken Black Label

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

4.8/10 (28 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
4
6
4
2
5
2
1

Rate Kraken Black Label

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Kraken Black Label ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Robhendriks from Belgium with 11 ratings

Maybe good for mixing. But didnt Bring anything good toch thé table (rumwise)

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Tried both the white and the black Kraken back-to-back and I have to tell you after 600 aged dark rums later, please make a service to humanity and do not try these drain cleaners at any cost. Whoever scored these vile liquids any higher than 2 needs to re-evaluate what real aged dark rums are. Both of these drinks are filled with artificial flavors which are not good at any measure, although the color is pretty close to a rum. Smell is offputting and the taste is just bloody awful. The Black Kraken is much worse than the white one, but it's like comparing two different drainage cleaners against each other, both are awful when consumed. You can't even mix this vile stuff with Coke since it will ruin a perfectly fine Coke.

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Partagas&rum from Norway with 7 ratings

It reminded me of a cup of cold coffe left from yesterday! This one have to be decorated with some sort of additives. Stay away!!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 69 ratings

To be honest I can not find any use for this one. Leave it alone!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

OK, but not nearly as good as its big brother. You’ll end up using more of this Kraken Lite in your favorite rum cocktail. Also, lacks the robust taste & presence of the 94. I’d switch labels though - use the black label on the 94.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

Minus the carbonation. Maybe there’s a better way to experience this than as a base, certainly not as a sipper? Perhaps with a dram of a Spanish style white and some fruity stuff? Idk, I suspect glycol is in this as this low proof rum (35% abv) makes you feel the booze longer than one should, with that sickly after effect akin to Fireball. Maybe that’s it! The Fireball of dark rums… additives and all. If you’re stuck with some, probably blend this in a milkshake and call it a day.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by eisbar from France with 9 ratings

This rum have the same problems as the Don Papa. Too much sugar and additives, maybe it's good as a first rum for newcomers since you can find this everywhere, but here again it seems that all the money has been invested in marketing and packaging instead of making a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

The original kraken does not impress so to taste a stronger one, still doesn't impress . Pure added sugar and rubbish flavours ... Swiftly move on from this one

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

This is diluted Kraken (70 proof instead of 94) sold for about $0.5-1 less. Simple as that. Same overwhelming vanilla taste with a predictably weaker burn. Not the worst I've had straight (which is why it gets a 2), but definitely not a rum I'd like to drink straight regularly. It also can't be drunk on the rocks as it becomes a watered down mess, and the rum and coke I made with this tasted like vanilla Coke mixed with water. I couldn't even taste the rum. Don't waste your money on this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robin from United States with 4 ratings

One side you drink Kraken, the other side you drink Captain. Good enough for the price. Nothing spectacular. It gets a 7 because it is definitely not bad rum.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 117 ratings

I guess I would use this as a floater in a mixed rum drink. Then again, there are better black rums for floaters.