Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


402 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

Good in certain mixed drinks. Not really good to drink straight.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kocour from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Simply rofl. It smells just like old Ford Fiesta...

Posted over 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Mix with fresh pineapple juice and you get a tasty drink, use in any cocktail, you will get a tasty drink. Sweet, consumable, but has no real rum influence outside of a cocktail night. On the positive side, it is cheap and readily available and I do have a penchant for the premixed cans with sparkling pineapple juice.

I am sure there are better quality coconut rums out there, but this one will serve its purpose.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

There are much better coconut rums out there. First thing its like 42 proof so its almost all water and sugar so I cant consider it a true rum, more like a liqueur. With that in mind you cant expect much as far as quality. Opening it you get a sugary coconut smell with no hints of alcohol. Drinking it is much the same you get a very distinct extract of coconut taste with a side of a large portion of sugar cane and thats about it. I prefer other coconut rums that dont use coconut extract because its just not anywhere near comparable to a natural coconut flavor. Which is why this rum loses points because it is beat out by a large amount of competitors.
Notes
-Not a liquor more a liqueur (low proof 42)
-Smells of coconut and sugar (no alcohol)
-Tastes like coconut EXTRACT and sugar cane
-There are better rums for the price that use a natural coconut and at higher proof
-Very fact manufactured taste

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Cocococonut well don't know why I'm even rating this one

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

The chemical aftertaste is pretty offensive. Why on earth would anyone drink this stuff when they can buy hand sanitizer more cheaply (and it's probably more tasty than this poo).

Posted over 4 years ago by Ethan Allen from United States with 9 ratings

A decent coconut rum that you should break out for a party, save the good stuff for yourself.

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Anyone who mistakes Malibu for a proper rum knows little about rum. It's basically an artificially flavored sugar syrup with a little rum added.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Cheap, cheerful, easily obtainable and probably you want this in your home bar for those "friends" visiting that want a sweet coconut flavoured cocktail.

Just go the supermarket walk straight passed this Malibu and get yourself a ripe coconut and start making some home-made real unsweetened coconut rum at higher proof. Plenty of recipes on-line to get you there,

Make sure to hide it from your "friends" as they will see the light and drink your home-made good stuff ;)

Posted over 7 years ago by Jo1302 from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

My affair with rum began when I was slightly underage, and slightly more naive. Asking the barman for a 'surprise' drink luckily resulted in what is now my standard drink; Malibu and cranberry. The sharpness of cranberry with the crispness of coconut and a twinge of lime makes it my perfect drink.

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

I use this one in a easy mixer with pineapple juice! It's low rum rate and strong coconut taste makes it taste like your on holiday...

Posted over 7 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

I've been drinking this since forever, half the time without not knowing it, since this is probably the favorite bar staple for making Hawaiian drinks. Good enough, but would l-o-v-e to see an organic version on the market, especially now that coconut water and milk have become such the rage with the vegan yoga crowd recently.

Posted 9 days ago by Immiketoo from Greece with 6 ratings

Eh, it’s technically rum, but without the rest of the cocktail it’s cloyingly sweet and undrinkable unless you’re 15 and trying to impress your latest high school crush because you stole it from your parents liquor cabinet.

Cheap and effective.

Posted about 2 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This is the rum you buy in college or high school because your girlfriend or boyfriend is a light weight and knows nothing about rum? Most bar drinks with coconut are made with this. Light on alcohol but heavy on coconut flavor.

Posted about 2 months ago by mako526 from United States with 7 ratings

Tastes fine, like coconut with a little bit of college. It is what it is. Very strong on the coconut flavor very little in the way of rum flavor. Nothing wrong with it for what it is, fairly inoffensive, but its definitely not great. Perfect for parties.

Posted 5 months ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 11 ratings

A party liqueur if there ever was one. Although the scent and flavour brings back memories of vacation and summer time, it is not match for a proper coconut infused rum, or coconut liqueur when it comes to crafting cocktails. It knows how to shine when it needs to, but it shouldn’t be taken as a serious ingredient for any true mixologists

Posted 12 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Coconut flavored syrupy sugary garbage, plain and simple.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Tak toto je veľmi sladké s príchuťou kokosu a nemá to vôbec nič spoločné s rumom, ale vôbec to nie je zlé ako prísada do niektorých miešaných drinkov a s dobre vychladeným ananásovým džúsom sa to priam pýta. Na ten účel, ktorý bol Malibu stvorený je celkom vydarené dielo.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

The backstory: My buddy was having his 21st birthday party and I was working at a now defunct liquor store in St. Charles MO. There was a $5 cover charge unless you brought booze. I brought beer and a pint of Malibu Rum. It was midnight and we all sat in a circle passing this around. The next morning I went to White castle and threw up all over the bathroom. The last thing I had to drink was Malibu.

I will never buy Malibu again, because of this incident. The artificialness of the coconut was just too much. This is perfect if you're in high school and don't know better. But as you get older you tend to get much wiser. Avoid.

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

if you're a teenage girl you probably think that this is good rum but I'm not and you're most likely not either so go to the grocery store and buy a freaking coconut..... Or..... Get fancy and buy a half of a coconut and pour some decent rum into it and voila.... Coconut rum that won't give you a hangover.

Posted over 4 years ago by Blake S. from Canada with 13 ratings

We use this in mojitos with mint from our deck. Tastes like you're drinking it off the back of that special someone who you've just lathered with suntan lotion...in a good way.

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Pas vraiment du rhum...
Une mixture industrielle, avec du rhum et des arômes de coco
Sympa à boire en cocktails.

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

So it's sold everywhere from Walgreens to Walmart. So what? Pour some Malibu, Sprite, and the juice of your choice (pineapple or orange works great) and you've got a beach drink to take you away from your worries. It's sweet, it accents a tropical/fruity drink well, and I honestly love it.

Posted 5 days ago by Jbarber from United States with 13 ratings

I am not a coconut fan. My wife loves it with orange juice

Posted 5 days ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

It's not really a rum is it? It works as a flavouring in cocktails but little else. I should probably just stock coconut water and add a real rum to that instead but it doesn't expire so it's useful in that sense.




#