Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored | 21.0% ABV

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.2/10
479 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
28
44
75
123
120
45
26
8
6
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

479 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael from United States with 14 ratings

I like the taste of this, but not because it tastes like rum (it doesn't). I don't think that is Malibu's goal either. So, drink up, but don't expect anything other than a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kocour from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Simply rofl. It smells just like old Ford Fiesta...

Small 26820

Posted over 5 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Mix with fresh pineapple juice and you get a tasty drink, use in any cocktail, you will get a tasty drink. Sweet, consumable, but has no real rum influence outside of a cocktail night. On the positive side, it is cheap and readily available and I do have a penchant for the premixed cans with sparkling pineapple juice.

I am sure there are better quality coconut rums out there, but this one will serve its purpose.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ethan Allen from United States with 9 ratings

A decent coconut rum that you should break out for a party, save the good stuff for yourself.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

There are much better coconut rums out there. First thing its like 42 proof so its almost all water and sugar so I cant consider it a true rum, more like a liqueur. With that in mind you cant expect much as far as quality. Opening it you get a sugary coconut smell with no hints of alcohol. Drinking it is much the same you get a very distinct extract of coconut taste with a side of a large portion of sugar cane and thats about it. I prefer other coconut rums that dont use coconut extract because its just not anywhere near comparable to a natural coconut flavor. Which is why this rum loses points because it is beat out by a large amount of competitors.
Notes
-Not a liquor more a liqueur (low proof 42)
-Smells of coconut and sugar (no alcohol)
-Tastes like coconut EXTRACT and sugar cane
-There are better rums for the price that use a natural coconut and at higher proof
-Very fact manufactured taste

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 104 ratings

Cocococonut well don't know why I'm even rating this one

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

The chemical aftertaste is pretty offensive. Why on earth would anyone drink this stuff when they can buy hand sanitizer more cheaply (and it's probably more tasty than this poo).

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

If you are at rum ratings trying to get a brilliant review on delicious rums and Malibu is your choice, please tell me so I can cancel my account right now.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ransom9 from United States with 4 ratings

I absolutely love this rum. Fantastic in a piña colada.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 53 ratings

Eh, it’s technically rum, but without the rest of the cocktail it’s cloyingly sweet and undrinkable unless you’re 15 and trying to impress your latest high school crush because you stole it from your parents liquor cabinet.

Cheap and effective.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

Anyone who mistakes Malibu for a proper rum knows little about rum. It's basically an artificially flavored sugar syrup with a little rum added.