Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.3/10 (414 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
22
37
63
102
108
44
23
6
5
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


414 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0c92d34774972c5e966c92b1dec58e53.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

The backstory: My buddy was having his 21st birthday party and I was working at a now defunct liquor store in St. Charles MO. There was a $5 cover charge unless you brought booze. I brought beer and a pint of Malibu Rum. It was midnight and we all sat in a circle passing this around. The next morning I went to White castle and threw up all over the bathroom. The last thing I had to drink was Malibu.

I will never buy Malibu again, because of this incident. The artificialness of the coconut was just too much. This is perfect if you're in high school and don't know better. But as you get older you tend to get much wiser. Avoid.

C5baa9399d9c439de06c091a137a1209.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kocour from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Simply rofl. It smells just like old Ford Fiesta...

81f70782fd827ab1b001ae032335713d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 65 ratings

Mix with fresh pineapple juice and you get a tasty drink, use in any cocktail, you will get a tasty drink. Sweet, consumable, but has no real rum influence outside of a cocktail night. On the positive side, it is cheap and readily available and I do have a penchant for the premixed cans with sparkling pineapple juice.

I am sure there are better quality coconut rums out there, but this one will serve its purpose.

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

There are much better coconut rums out there. First thing its like 42 proof so its almost all water and sugar so I cant consider it a true rum, more like a liqueur. With that in mind you cant expect much as far as quality. Opening it you get a sugary coconut smell with no hints of alcohol. Drinking it is much the same you get a very distinct extract of coconut taste with a side of a large portion of sugar cane and thats about it. I prefer other coconut rums that dont use coconut extract because its just not anywhere near comparable to a natural coconut flavor. Which is why this rum loses points because it is beat out by a large amount of competitors.
Notes
-Not a liquor more a liqueur (low proof 42)
-Smells of coconut and sugar (no alcohol)
-Tastes like coconut EXTRACT and sugar cane
-There are better rums for the price that use a natural coconut and at higher proof
-Very fact manufactured taste

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Cocococonut well don't know why I'm even rating this one

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

The chemical aftertaste is pretty offensive. Why on earth would anyone drink this stuff when they can buy hand sanitizer more cheaply (and it's probably more tasty than this poo).

B4195e2b8d485392677864e7bdb93d70.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ethan Allen from United States with 9 ratings

A decent coconut rum that you should break out for a party, save the good stuff for yourself.

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Anyone who mistakes Malibu for a proper rum knows little about rum. It's basically an artificially flavored sugar syrup with a little rum added.

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Cheap, cheerful, easily obtainable and probably you want this in your home bar for those "friends" visiting that want a sweet coconut flavoured cocktail.

Just go the supermarket walk straight passed this Malibu and get yourself a ripe coconut and start making some home-made real unsweetened coconut rum at higher proof. Plenty of recipes on-line to get you there,

Make sure to hide it from your "friends" as they will see the light and drink your home-made good stuff ;)

541db770e1a37163c246426270f301b0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Jo1302 from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

My affair with rum began when I was slightly underage, and slightly more naive. Asking the barman for a 'surprise' drink luckily resulted in what is now my standard drink; Malibu and cranberry. The sharpness of cranberry with the crispness of coconut and a twinge of lime makes it my perfect drink.

7a27c50fd37aaa3fdd4fc41924e4ebaa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

I use this one in a easy mixer with pineapple juice! It's low rum rate and strong coconut taste makes it taste like your on holiday...