Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


404 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Not a real rhum (half the alcohol) but tastes very sweet/good/coconut for drinks. Not for sipping !

Posted 5 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 14 ratings

One of those drinks that everyone had to try in college. Had one in my life. Don’t ever need another. Thank heaven that taste buds get older and wiser...

Posted 5 months ago by FaithMonax from Canada with 13 ratings

Not much character. There is a coconut taste, but it doesn't feel refined..

Posted 5 months ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Not pleasant to sip or mix at all. The only safe place for this is as part of a combination of ingredients in either a cocktail or some kind of cake. Iconic bottle though.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Podľa mňa tento nápoj okolo rumu ani nešiel. Jedine ozajstné použitie je do miešanych drinkov. Nepríde mi,že je robený z prírodných zložiek,skôr umelo

Posted 5 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

This isnt rum but if you are looking to make a poolside pina colada, this will do the trick

Posted 6 months ago by Marco Heijnens from Netherlands with 12 ratings

It's a coconut flavoured ethanol somthing. Can you call this rum?

Posted 6 months ago by Rumboggins from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Love a bit of bu! Easy drinking as not too strong but still a nice coconut flavour

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Jarabe de coco con sabor a ron, no lo calificaria como ron mismo. Podria servir como cocktail. Muy malo.

Posted 6 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Cheerful.
Like a cheap date dressed up in a fur coat with no knickers..
Enjoyable at the time but not something that you'd do regularly

Posted 6 months ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Nothing to taste or smell here. Just for dissolving purposes.

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Con zumo de piña esta muy bueno.........................

Posted 7 months ago by LTheelen from Netherlands with 21 ratings

I love coconut and rum. Mix it with either cola or apple juice. I don't mind sweetness, but it could tone it down a bit (coming from a guy who throws it in with apple juice hehe)

Posted 7 months ago by mswoodruff (PREMIUM) from Singapore with 16 ratings

we all know its highly flavoured stupid juice but we all drink it in those cocktails at times :-)

Posted 7 months ago by Cwill9999 from United States with 2 ratings

A very dry rum, but the coconut is ever so prominent. Good for budget mixed drinks, but there are much better coconut runs you could invest in.

Highly do not recommend shots of this rum lol

Posted 7 months ago by kevie from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

This is an extremely sweet coconut liqueur, I've had it on many occasions and, if I'm being honest, didn't even know it was rum based. It's not horrible, but it is extremely sweet, like a Bounty bar blended and (somehow) made into liquid form.

It's actually quite pleasant when mixed with fresh fruit juice as a drink on a hot summer's day. I would probably have given it a better mark if it were cheap, but both of the local supermarkets have this at £15 a bottle, given I can buy a full strength dark rum for that then I can see no reason to recommend it. If I was given it for free then I would happily take it, but at the price I'd pick up a bottle of rum and not a rum based liqueur.

Posted 7 months ago by Dennis66 (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Is this even rum? I thought it was a 16 year old mixer

Posted 7 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Try it with Raspberry juice and ice for a “ruffle”. Decent for a pina colada too.

Posted 8 months ago by Fio_Letta from Ukraine with 16 ratings

If you like coconut, then you will like the aroma. I can’t call this rum. I use it only for cocktails, to add a special flavor.
But its not bad at all.

Posted 9 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Lukta kokos smakar kokos, bra i drinkar. Kan på sin höjd tas med mycket is i liten mängd men gör sig bra i flertalet drinkar och är en tacksam blandflaska.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Ok, a spiced rum, a classic Pina Colada ingredient really. Not my cup of tea, but very coconutty.

Posted at The L Garage 10 months ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

This is barely a rum, it's coconut flavoured liquor. Weak enough to drink straight, bad enough that you would never want to.

Cheap "rum" for a cheap drink. I wouldn't waste money on it, but it's the kinda bottle that every bar has sitting in the back in case someone wants it.

Posted 10 months ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

I can only imagine this rum was explicitly designed to be an easy, no-measure pour (read: dump) into fake tiki drinks and solo cups filled with canned Dole pineapple juice. On its own it is offensively bad, but when mixed with the skill of a college kid or dive bar bartender it comes into its own and results in something remarkably more palatable than most other things in that category. Various juices and Malibu are a better bet than Jack and Cokes and screwdrivers, and the coconut flavor is useful in a pinch for a crappy party punch, but this is not meant for anyone with an appreciation for rum.

Posted 10 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

Terrible choice if you like complex rums. Definitely not my type. Overly sweet.

Posted 10 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 33 ratings

Use quite frequently in Caribbean type cocktail when we have guest over. Not bad straight up.