Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.2/10
470 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
25
44
73
121
120
45
25
7
6
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

470 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

You know what it tastes like so i'll not bother, however i have a mate who used to insist on ordering Malibu and milk in bars/clubs when we were out.....We lived in the Welsh valleys.....Bartenders thought lager and lime was a cocktail back then....Not sure how we survived lol

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mako526 from United States with 7 ratings

Tastes fine, like coconut with a little bit of college. It is what it is. Very strong on the coconut flavor very little in the way of rum flavor. Nothing wrong with it for what it is, fairly inoffensive, but its definitely not great. Perfect for parties.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 13 ratings

A party liqueur if there ever was one. Although the scent and flavour brings back memories of vacation and summer time, it is not match for a proper coconut infused rum, or coconut liqueur when it comes to crafting cocktails. It knows how to shine when it needs to, but it shouldn’t be taken as a serious ingredient for any true mixologists

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Coconut flavored syrupy sugary garbage, plain and simple.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Tak toto je veľmi sladké s príchuťou kokosu a nemá to vôbec nič spoločné s rumom, ale vôbec to nie je zlé ako prísada do niektorých miešaných drinkov a s dobre vychladeným ananásovým džúsom sa to priam pýta. Na ten účel, ktorý bol Malibu stvorený je celkom vydarené dielo.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

The backstory: My buddy was having his 21st birthday party and I was working at a now defunct liquor store in St. Charles MO. There was a $5 cover charge unless you brought booze. I brought beer and a pint of Malibu Rum. It was midnight and we all sat in a circle passing this around. The next morning I went to White castle and threw up all over the bathroom. The last thing I had to drink was Malibu.

I will never buy Malibu again, because of this incident. The artificialness of the coconut was just too much. This is perfect if you're in high school and don't know better. But as you get older you tend to get much wiser. Avoid.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

if you're a teenage girl you probably think that this is good rum but I'm not and you're most likely not either so go to the grocery store and buy a freaking coconut..... Or..... Get fancy and buy a half of a coconut and pour some decent rum into it and voila.... Coconut rum that won't give you a hangover.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Blake S. from Canada with 13 ratings

We use this in mojitos with mint from our deck. Tastes like you're drinking it off the back of that special someone who you've just lathered with suntan lotion...in a good way.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil from Réunion with 154 ratings

Pas vraiment du rhum...
Une mixture industrielle, avec du rhum et des arômes de coco
Sympa à boire en cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

So it's sold everywhere from Walgreens to Walmart. So what? Pour some Malibu, Sprite, and the juice of your choice (pineapple or orange works great) and you've got a beach drink to take you away from your worries. It's sweet, it accents a tropical/fruity drink well, and I honestly love it.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 42 ratings

Nothing I would drink on its own, but this is serviceable in a pineapple heavy cocktail