Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.3/10 (447 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
23
40
71
113
114
45
25
7
5
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


447 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

for cocktails maybe?

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

I use this one in a easy mixer with pineapple juice! It's low rum rate and strong coconut taste makes it taste like your on holiday...

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

I've been drinking this since forever, half the time without not knowing it, since this is probably the favorite bar staple for making Hawaiian drinks. Good enough, but would l-o-v-e to see an organic version on the market, especially now that coconut water and milk have become such the rage with the vegan yoga crowd recently.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Pēteris from Latvia with 2 ratings

A verry sweet liquor, white an thick consistency, a good one for making pina coladas

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

Consumable in college at parties and maybe take a swig at bonfire beach parties, but not something I would ever keep at home. Its not really rum though in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 16 ratings

This is the rum you buy in college or high school because your girlfriend or boyfriend is a light weight and knows nothing about rum? Most bar drinks with coconut are made with this. Light on alcohol but heavy on coconut flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mako526 from United States with 7 ratings

Tastes fine, like coconut with a little bit of college. It is what it is. Very strong on the coconut flavor very little in the way of rum flavor. Nothing wrong with it for what it is, fairly inoffensive, but its definitely not great. Perfect for parties.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 13 ratings

A party liqueur if there ever was one. Although the scent and flavour brings back memories of vacation and summer time, it is not match for a proper coconut infused rum, or coconut liqueur when it comes to crafting cocktails. It knows how to shine when it needs to, but it shouldn’t be taken as a serious ingredient for any true mixologists

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Coconut flavored syrupy sugary garbage, plain and simple.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Tak toto je veľmi sladké s príchuťou kokosu a nemá to vôbec nič spoločné s rumom, ale vôbec to nie je zlé ako prísada do niektorých miešaných drinkov a s dobre vychladeným ananásovým džúsom sa to priam pýta. Na ten účel, ktorý bol Malibu stvorený je celkom vydarené dielo.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

The backstory: My buddy was having his 21st birthday party and I was working at a now defunct liquor store in St. Charles MO. There was a $5 cover charge unless you brought booze. I brought beer and a pint of Malibu Rum. It was midnight and we all sat in a circle passing this around. The next morning I went to White castle and threw up all over the bathroom. The last thing I had to drink was Malibu.

I will never buy Malibu again, because of this incident. The artificialness of the coconut was just too much. This is perfect if you're in high school and don't know better. But as you get older you tend to get much wiser. Avoid.