Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.3/10 (456 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
25
41
72
116
115
46
25
7
5
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

456 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

for cocktails maybe?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 357 ratings

I recently went to a crawfish boil, which is a popular spring time gathering in south Louisiana. After all of the mud bugs had been gobbled up by everyone, I noticed a bottle of this rum on the table where the veggies were all cut up. The cook only used a half bottle of the 750 ml size to add to the boil. In my half century of attending crawfish boils and doing a few myself, I have NEVER seen this stuff used as a secret ingredient. I told him that this stuff has 100 gpl of added sugar, as in 25 teaspoons per bottle. He looked surprised. And guess what? No one even noticed this secret ingredient, so adding it to the boil was a total waste of money.

At any rate, I realized that I had not yet rated this "rum", so here goes. Once you get past the luring smell, it tastes like coconut syrup and not rum. As I said before, this one is loaded with sugar and has twice as much as the much better one from Blue Chair Bay that is also easily available. Out of the 13 coconut rums that I have tried and rated, this one is the third worst.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 29 ratings

Rum w coconut flavor, perhaps useful as mixer, for a piña colada

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

errinerung ihn meine jugend! starker kokosnuss geschnack! haben wir früher mit orangen oder ananassaft getrunken schrecklich...
hat für mich nichts mit rum zu tun.
i will never try it

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Not really like it. Good yo prepare pina colada. Noy a very big fan of flavoured rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Sweet. Not much of a rum, but then again you do not really expect one. It is an artificial drink. But still you might want that.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 35 ratings

En väldigt söt kokosnötsrom.
Passar sig inte att dricka som den är tycker jag, utan det är en drinkmixer rom.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by kevin_kaye from United States with 8 ratings

I chuckle at establishments that consider this rum "top shelf." It's too sweet, almost cloyingly so. More sweetness than coconut flavor. It mixes well enough but I'd rather use a coconut rum that's more rum than sweetness in my mixed drinks. This is most people's go-to coconut rum which is sad, because there are so many coconut rums that are coconut flavorful and actually taste like rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Outside of being used in a sweet rum punch or something similar, I don’t see much place for this one. The last time this was a staple in my residence, I’m pretty sure I was in college & likely not old enough to drink it. Tastes like suntan lotion & bad decisions.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Smouth and full mouth, very dense, indeed has a taste of coconut, soft. Perfect for cocktails

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Virago from United States with 3 ratings

This is the first coconut rum I tasted. I thought it was the best thing ever, until I came out of my comfort zone and began trying other brands. Malibu isn't the best, but it's still good and it's available at most bars and restaurants. I'm still a novice, but I will still pick Malibu over an unknown, and it's still good for making mixed drinks.