Posting your rating...
Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.3/10 (456 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
25
41
72
116
115
46
25
7
5
4

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

456 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

good with pineapple juice

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Ok, a spiced rum, a classic Pina Colada ingredient really. Not my cup of tea, but very coconutty.

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage over 1 year ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 58 ratings

This is barely a rum, it's coconut flavoured liquor. Weak enough to drink straight, bad enough that you would never want to.

Cheap "rum" for a cheap drink. I wouldn't waste money on it, but it's the kinda bottle that every bar has sitting in the back in case someone wants it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

I can only imagine this rum was explicitly designed to be an easy, no-measure pour (read: dump) into fake tiki drinks and solo cups filled with canned Dole pineapple juice. On its own it is offensively bad, but when mixed with the skill of a college kid or dive bar bartender it comes into its own and results in something remarkably more palatable than most other things in that category. Various juices and Malibu are a better bet than Jack and Cokes and screwdrivers, and the coconut flavor is useful in a pinch for a crappy party punch, but this is not meant for anyone with an appreciation for rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

Terrible choice if you like complex rums. Definitely not my type. Overly sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Use quite frequently in Caribbean type cocktail when we have guest over. Not bad straight up.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Malibu cola. Pina colada. Malibu orange. This is it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pditty911 from United States with 10 ratings

Wow what a sexist subject line to this review. Well, they will. It's a good rum if you have enough small umbrellas around to finish the bottle. You are not going to dig out your monocle, looking like the monopoly man, sit by the fire and break down the craftsmanship of this fine rum. You are gonna get all your girls together like Carrie Bradshaw in Sex in the City together and go out on the town on a mission of "man conquest" and have some Malibu rum. It's a mixer that has a narrow target. I wouldn't mix with a coke or Ginger ale. It's a blast your panties off tropical party in a bottle. Blender recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Can't get to the Bahamas, Hawaii, or even out of your apartment on a Sunday, then Malibu will get you as close to a beach as you want. Sand and sunburn not included.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ifitsbrokenfixit from United States with 12 ratings

I admit this started it all for me so I have a love of Malibu. I keep some in my fridge just incase i want to add a coconut flavor to my coke which is delicious. Overall not really a rum as I no have acquired a taste for real rum, but not bad if you like sugar haha.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry Van den Bulck from Belgium with 9 ratings

Basic coconut rum which I prefer over some other variants. But most often used for a Malibu Libre withe coke or a very nice cocktail is Malibu Coconut + blood orange juice + some sugar cane sirop on the rocks