Posting your rating...
Plantation 2002 Jamaica rum

Rate Plantation 2002 Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Plantation 2002 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice light gold color. At the nose, we can detect typical varnish, solvent note coming from Jamaica with fruity notes like pineapple, banana and mango. On the palate, same aroma, very smooth. The final is not very long but nice rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Qui ntin Vincent from France with 21 ratings

Un rhum assez corsé, vieilli en fûts de bourbon dans un premier temps, puis en fûts de cognac.
Un nez assez prononcé, mélange de fruits et d'épices, assez proche d'un rhum agricole pour moi.
En bouche, il n'est ni trop sec, ni trop sucré. On retrouve un mélange de fruits exotiques, d'épices et de canne, sans qu'une saveur prenne réellement le dessus.
Quoi qu'il en soit, il est plutôt costaud et ne manque pas de corps!
Un rhum agréable à découvrir, mais pas forcément accessible aux personnes préférant les rhums plus doux et plus sucrés!

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

This rum was bit disappointing ,I was expecting something smoother. That said, it is a good rum ,just not one that I would prefer to sip. The strong rum flavour makes the best rum and coke.

Posted about 2 months ago by MickeEng from Sweden with 6 ratings

This was my second rum of "better ones" and what a nice rum, VERY affordable here, and now im looking forward to buy the pineapple one!

Posted 3 months ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

Wouldnt be disappointed if this was all I could find on vacation. Has that classic Plantation taste

Posted 9 months ago by Loriluvsdisney from United States with 3 ratings

Just came off a two week whiskey tasting so this was very smooth. Not sure if it was this particular rum or just rum in general after ???

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It is pretty good, but blends in with a lot of the other Plantation Rums.

Posted about 1 year ago by Calmar from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Сильный, пряный аромат с нотками солёного сала, вкус также хорош с добавлением терпкого дуба. 7/10

Posted about 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 31 ratings

Pas un souvenir impérissable, trop raide à mon gout.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Compared this to the plantation xaymaca. Very similar in taste though the xaymaca are more dry and not so sweet as it's brother Jamaica 2002. But nevertheless this is a great rum like the xaymaca. If you prefer a sweeter rum this will suit you more. But trust me, it's not to sweet. Banana and arrak for the flavours and nose.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sebastian from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Has the some of the typical Jamaican flavors but lacks power. Good light rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Trouvé trop sec! Beaucoup l'apprécie dans d'autres sites, mais moi non.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan from Canada with 21 ratings

Orange zest and banana are the only ones I taste on the first glass. Not sure if I like all the flavours.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Janis from Latvia with 14 ratings

Sweet mead and fresh cane aroma. Taste is also weet and soft, some lemon wodden notes. Very good

Posted almost 2 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

I’m not big fun about Jamaica rums. But this time I was nice surprised.
Nose: first give little bit time for this Rum. Let him take a breath. This way alcohol aroma will lose strength.
Taste: I’ll be sure that I will have unliked taste of alcohol. But not in this time. It’s very smooth.

Posted about 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Smells wooden and sweet, and it is sweet. I compared it with others Jamaican rums, and it is not as god as others. Woody and i find some peat in the mouth. Not long lasting. But for this price, nice.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

This rum's nose contains a musty and sour aroma. There is clearly plum for me, but somehow rotten. A bit more than fermented. This is also reflected in the taste with plum, cacao, butter and overripe banana.
Could be interesting for some people, however, not my favorite one ...

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schönes honiggelbes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase wunderbar füllig und tief, Du steckst Sie in ein getoastetes Eichenholzfass das mit Früchten, Karamell, Vanille - Sahnebonbon und Gebäck gefüllt ist.
Im Gaumen angenehm warm und mundfüllend aber nicht so tief. Jamaika irie, ein buntes Bukett von tropischen Früchten, Vanillebrötchen, Schokolade, Gewürzen und ein Schuss Zuckerrohr Sirup.
Im Abgang scharf und pfefferig, Früchte und Karamell schwimmen auf der Süsse davon.
Ein lieblicher süsser Plantation Rum der Einsteiger in die Jamaika-Rum-Welt einführen kann und Geniesser erfreut. 7+

Beautiful honey yellow amber in the glass.
Wonderfully full and deep in the nose, you put it in a toasted oak barrel filled with fruits, caramel, vanilla -cream toffees and biscuits.
The palate is pleasantly warm and mouth-filling but not so rich. Jamaica irie, a colorful bouquet of tropical fruits, vanilla rolls, chocolate, spices and a dash of sugarcane syrup.
On the finish spicy and peppery, fruits and caramel float on the sweetness of it.
A nice, sweet plantation rum that can introduce beginners to the world of Jamaican rum and pleases gourmets. 7+

Posted over 2 years ago by Gabor Roka from Hungary with 1 rating

First you try this Jamaican (i saw the ages' reviews as well) the smell will be tell you a straight no. After the tasting if you survived the smell test and still want to try it, it's quite mild at start. Not bad, not good.
At the end it has some kind of burn, but not the strongest according to this price range.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Plantation Jamaica 2002 and it has a very weird rubber smell to it. Maybe it's the Jamaica Glue which other reviews are referring to. It is offputting to start with and the taste test does not convince me either. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Marten from Netherlands with 6 ratings

For me this rum has a to strong punch of alcohol taste. I prefer the plantation Barbados and Barbados XO 20th

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonasm from Belgium with 8 ratings

If you like rum off Jamaica buy this one. Great taste. Ice will make some flavors stand out.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Sofie Mårtensson from Sweden with 40 ratings

Oöppnad...........................................

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Un rom special pentru cine apreciază romurile de Jamaica. Mie personal nu-mi place în mod special dar apreciez corpolența și vechimea acestuia. Probabil e mai plăcut în mix-uri.