Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (132 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
24
54
31
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 15 hours ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 57 ratings

Der Plantation Original Dark ist ein drei Jahre gereifter Blend aus Trinidad und Jamaica und hat 40% Alkohol Anteil. Ich habe den Rum pur verkostet und war überrascht das er trinkbar ist. Etwas Süße, Rauch, aber auch extrem kurz und klarer Alkohol schwingt mit. Habe auch einen Freund kosten lassen, welcher den Rum wesentlich teurer eingeschätzt hat.

Am Ende aber doch eher zum Mixen. Irgendwie etwas zwischen dem 3Star von Plantation und dem Havana Club 7. Ist lecker in Cola obwohl ich hier die anderen genannten oder den etwas teureren Grand Reserva besser finde. Aber für ca 15Euro macht man hier nichts falsch. Ich persönlich würde aber zum Mixen eher den 3 Star kaufen. Und zum sippen... guckt euch einfach mein Cabinet an.

The Plantation Original Dark is a three-year mature blend from Trinidad and Jamaica and has 40% alcohol content. I tasted the rum oure and was surprised that it is somehow drinkable. Some sweet, smoke, but also extremely short and clear alcohol resonates. I also had a friend who valued the rum much more expensive.

In the end, however, it's more for mixing. Somehow something between the 3Star of Plantation and the Havana Club 7. It's delicious in Coke although I find the others mentioned here or the slightly more expensive Grand Reserva better. But for about 15Euros you don't do anything wrong here. Personally, however, I would rather buy the 3 star for mixing. And for sipping... u know... see my Cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is my absolute favorit rum for a Dark'n'Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This! Is! Awesome!! This is standard procedure done really really well! Strong aroma loaded with tropical fruits and brown-sweetness (toffee, caramel, you know.) Brown-sweet takes over in the mouth with molasses coming out, but still rounded out by those fruits and a little spice joining in the fun. Finish is just a nice warm tickle as the goodness fades. And to top it off, its $25 a liter. Best value there is. Period!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Good mixer for Dark n Stormy, and other cocktails. It’s a solid 8 for me.

Ffffff

Posted 24 hours ago by Robert from United States with 59 ratings

Rich flavors of oak and caramel with little burn. A solid offering from Plantation

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Not a big fan of this as a sipper, but love it as a mixer. Nice aroma & flavor. Tough to beat $18.49 for 1L as well too!

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Za cenu okolo 12€ som nemal veľké očakávania ale čakal som že to bude ine ako Republika a Hefron. Vôňa ma prekvapila. Je sladká karamelovo korenená, trochu liehová ale cítim tam aj jamajskú zložku. Chuť je na jednu stranu sladká - karamel, med no na druhu stranu štiplavejšia-kyslejšia - korenie, nakvasené ovocie? Záver bol prijemný jemne do horka.
Za danú cenu je to naozaj dobrá voľba či už na samostatné pitie alebo do drinkov (hlavne Cuba Libre) ale na nejaké vychutnávanie musíme zainvestovať viac.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Goldigger from Greece with 8 ratings

I really liked the taste of this one. I want to try it in cocktails like dark n stormy that everyone recommends.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by tot2day from Greece with 21 ratings

Was not expecting that one. Excellent oaky rum for the price

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Dom59842 from United States with 8 ratings

Great rum for mixing drinks, Dark and stormy's, rum and coke, really anything.

Also good for just drinking straight if you want rum but not excessive sweetness like Zaya

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 18-20 GPL. A great mixing rum. It's strong flavour carries through whatever you mix it with. In my case it's Orange Pineapple juice for my wife. Straight up it's not bad as a sipping rum, but it’s definitely a mixer. Oak, vanilla, dark almost burnt sugar/caramel, Cognac for sure, and some baking spices. Really well balanced and A bit of a burn as a sipper. I would purchase this again for Mai Tai, Pina Coladas, and rum punch drinks.