Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (144 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
29
58
34
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

144 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Justinpie from United States with 13 ratings

My mainline Jamaican darks have been Appleton Estates or Myers, which have always been serviceable without too much burn. This one has a very particular character to it, sort of what you think rum was like 200 years ago. I'm not sure if it's the old-school recipe or the cognac barrel aging, but there's a definite "Funk" that's not for everyone in this. That funkiness makes it great for mixing since it shines through a lot of stuff, but it may not be the best on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is my absolute favorit rum for a Dark'n'Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This! Is! Awesome!! This is standard procedure done really really well! Strong aroma loaded with tropical fruits and brown-sweetness (toffee, caramel, you know.) Brown-sweet takes over in the mouth with molasses coming out, but still rounded out by those fruits and a little spice joining in the fun. Finish is just a nice warm tickle as the goodness fades. And to top it off, its $25 a liter. Best value there is. Period!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Good mixer for Dark n Stormy, and other cocktails. It’s a solid 8 for me.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Herutza from Romania with 12 ratings

Great value and I enjoy the smooth sweeter caramel taste.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 12 ratings

Have yet to try a Plantation rum yet that I don’t like. This one is smooth. Not too strong or overbearing aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by gespinosaj from Peru with 2 ratings

Tasty, good, too much banana flavor, better than average, not as good for a second chance.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

At $20-$25 a bottle you can’t beat it. A great dark blend.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Robert from United States with 63 ratings

Rich flavors of oak and caramel with little burn. A solid offering from Plantation

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Not a big fan of this as a sipper, but love it as a mixer. Nice aroma & flavor. Tough to beat $18.49 for 1L as well too!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 50 ratings

Za cenu okolo 12€ som nemal veľké očakávania ale čakal som že to bude ine ako Republika a Hefron. Vôňa ma prekvapila. Je sladká karamelovo korenená, trochu liehová ale cítim tam aj jamajskú zložku. Chuť je na jednu stranu sladká - karamel, med no na druhu stranu štiplavejšia-kyslejšia - korenie, nakvasené ovocie? Záver bol prijemný jemne do horka.
Za danú cenu je to naozaj dobrá voľba či už na samostatné pitie alebo do drinkov (hlavne Cuba Libre) ale na nejaké vychutnávanie musíme zainvestovať viac.