Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


112 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Haven't seen this one before. I've not been disappointed by any plantation thus far and still am not. This is a nice balance between sweet and bourbon like. Definite caramel and vanilla but pretty subtle. No problem on the rocks, probably a splash of soda would be perfect. Maybe later...

Posted about 2 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is my absolute favorit rum for a Dark'n'Stormy.

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This! Is! Awesome!! This is standard procedure done really really well! Strong aroma loaded with tropical fruits and brown-sweetness (toffee, caramel, you know.) Brown-sweet takes over in the mouth with molasses coming out, but still rounded out by those fruits and a little spice joining in the fun. Finish is just a nice warm tickle as the goodness fades. And to top it off, its $25 a liter. Best value there is. Period!

Posted 3 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 18-20 GPL. A great mixing rum. It's strong flavour carries through whatever you mix it with. In my case it's Orange Pineapple juice for my wife. Straight up it's not bad as a sipping rum, but it’s definitely a mixer. Oak, vanilla, dark almost burnt sugar/caramel, Cognac for sure, and some baking spices. Really well balanced and A bit of a burn as a sipper. I would purchase this again for Mai Tai, Pina Coladas, and rum punch drinks.

Posted 9 months ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Overall good, classical rich and smooth taste. Nothing surprising though.

Posted about 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

Beautiful aromas of prunes and nuts. On the sweeter side, gorgeous colour. $30CAD at SAQ. Decent legs, could be better. Better than Plantation Grande Reserve for $28 at LCBO due to its complexity.

A better mixer rather than a sipper. But you already knew that, didn't you?

Posted about 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 55 ratings

Rich caramel and baking spice... is it sweetened with added sugar??? Regardless, it stands out in most any mix calling for a dark. Recommended.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schönes sattes dunkles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase breitet sich zuerst eine schwere Süsse aus, gefolgt von Karamell-, Bananen- und Holzdüften.
Im Gaumen, süsses Karamell mit kandierten tropischen Früchten und getoastetem Holz. Auch Aromen der dunklen Macht sind zu entdecken.
Im Abgang fast etwas klebrig, Karamell und Früchte.
Ein Rum für jede Bar, zum mixen super, zum pur trinken ok.

Beautiful rich dark amber in the glass.
First a heavy sweetness spreads in the nose, followed by caramel, banana and wood fragrances.
On the palate, sweet caramel with candied tropical fruits and toasted wood. There are also flavors of the dark force to discover.
In the finish almost a bit sticky, caramel and fruits.
A rum for every bar, to mix super, to sip ok.

Posted about 2 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

cant beat the price. on the rocks or mixed good either way

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I like this rum for only $18.99 (Total Wines & More, 2017 price).

Smells and tastes of charred oak, spice, caramel, and maybe a hint of cognac. Not sweet.

Decent, though I prefer slightly sweeter rums.

Posted about 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice bronze color. On the nose are notes of exotic fruits with banana and spices with a light smoky side. In the mouth, it is very sweet, not very long. An excellent rum for cocktails.

Posted 3 days ago by Brian from Australia with 14 ratings

I originally bought this bottle because I was after a cheaper rum to put in cocktails. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened it. On the nose, its sweet & fruity. On the palate, its spicy & smooth. I will keep a bottle of this in my bar for sure.

Posted 15 days ago by YohoYoho from United States with 6 ratings

Get a hit of molasses and caramel, reminds me of Pusser’s somewhat. Is somewhat sweet, may have added sugar, but not bothered by that. :) Great price!

Posted 17 days ago by gigi_marca from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I was really surprised, for £24 I wasn't expecting such versatile rum. Is going well on it's own , on the rocks and as a mixer. Is not to strong, not to sweat , alcohol burn is pleasant, I would say quite refreshing.

Posted about 1 month ago by penbis from Lithuania with 1 rating

wow, just wow. this is the first rum I've tried that barely tasted like alcohol at all.
I haven't tried that many rums yet (those being captain morgan gold/black, bacardi white, havana especial), but this one just on a totally different level. beats all the whiskies I've tried too.
the flavor is something that I can't describe. it's sweet, it's saturated, it's got a really good aftertaste. I don't know how to describe it! it just tastes insanely good.
the only reason I'm giving it a 9/10 is because I am 100% positive I will eventually find something that will blow this one out of the water too. until then, this is hands down the best strong alcoholic drink I've ever tried.

Posted about 1 month ago by DurhamLad (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I found this little beauty whilst work away from home (UK) in the USA. I was impressed that this little gem, that I'd never heard of, tasted so good. The surprising thing is that I have since found it in my local supermarket (Asda) at a reasonable price. Naturally this has gone into my cabinet as one of my "go to - everyday" rums. For the price this is very smooth which I prefer to drink neat without ice. Ironically the 5 year, that my wife purchased by mistake, tastes even better. I'm spoiled for choice with the Plantation rums and can't wait to try more.

Posted about 1 month ago by Serbanik15 from Romania with 7 ratings

I like the color and the aroma of this rum. It was worth the try. I really recommend this one.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour déguster avec une glace ou accompagnement ou drinks.

Posted 2 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 23 ratings

Very nice dark sipper rum. Overall delightful, slightly smoky and sweet taste which induces a pleasant warm feel. Straight up one of my favorite rums.

Posted 2 months ago by Arnis from Latvia with 5 ratings

This is so far bedt option for price quality. It is not expencive but surprisingly good. Did several timesand absolutelly satisfayed

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

Take Wray & Nephew White Overproof, add some sugar and water. Result: great mixture for the cocktails

Edit: pretty smooth and addictive. Incrementing the score.

Posted 3 months ago by Tomex from Lithuania with 3 ratings

You can't go wrong with that. Tasty and not expensive.

Posted 3 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Like many others I have tried several offerings from Plantation. They can be hit-and-miss with their rums. This one is nearing the miss part of the spectrum.

Nose: Peppercorns, cloves, brown sugar, cinnamon and caramel
Taste: Pineapple, caramel, cinnamon and raisins with a very short and sweet aftertaste
Overall: This is not a spectacular rum in any sense. It is to sweet and simple for me, but it is very cheap and is a good value for money if you need to tighten the purse strings

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

nice fruity taste, finished with warm vanilla, smell is so good, melasa with banana, a little bit milky, thats good dark rum, could be sipper but much better for mixed, it is worth for buy, also good for beginners.

Posted 4 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Аромат коньячный (чувствуется довыдержка в коньячных бочках, видимо): фрукты, чернослив, немного шоколада - очень приятный и практически без спиртяги.

Послевкусие - такое же фруктово-виноградное, недолгое, но приятное. Вкус не яркий -
скорее терпкий, чем сладкий, доминирует коньяк и ощущается спиртяга.
А вообще в чистом виде пьётся тяжеловато, как будто он чрезмерно густой (хотя по консистенции он вполне нормальный).

Aroma is cognac-like (probably because of cognac cask): fruits, dried prunes and some chocolate - pleasant and soft, spirit harshness is low.

Aftertaste is the same - fruits and grape, short and pleasant. Taste is not strong - more harsh than sweet, again very cognac-like and with spirit roughness. As a second thought, it's not a mild sipper and it feels like it's too stiff (but strangely its body seems normal).