Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (125 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
23
50
29
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This is another great plantation rum! And it costs less then a Captain Morgan! But this one you can enjoy as a sipper. A CM you can't drink without coke, at least the cheaper ones. And if you want to mix it you will never go back to rums like CM. The smell is smooth full of arrak, vanilla and banana. It have a quite oaky sweet taste of vanilla, arrak, rumraisins and banana. I have a feeling that a bottle of plantation original dark will always be in my cabinet. A cold winterday blend this with hot chocolate and some whipped cream on top and you will be amazed! Go and buy now, a must have!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is my absolute favorit rum for a Dark'n'Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This! Is! Awesome!! This is standard procedure done really really well! Strong aroma loaded with tropical fruits and brown-sweetness (toffee, caramel, you know.) Brown-sweet takes over in the mouth with molasses coming out, but still rounded out by those fruits and a little spice joining in the fun. Finish is just a nice warm tickle as the goodness fades. And to top it off, its $25 a liter. Best value there is. Period!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Good mixer for Dark n Stormy, and other cocktails. It’s a solid 8 for me.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Goldigger from Greece with 8 ratings

I really liked the taste of this one. I want to try it in cocktails like dark n stormy that everyone recommends.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by tot2day from Greece with 19 ratings

Was not expecting that one. Excellent oaky rum for the price

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Dom59842 from United States with 8 ratings

Great rum for mixing drinks, Dark and stormy's, rum and coke, really anything.

Also good for just drinking straight if you want rum but not excessive sweetness like Zaya

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 18-20 GPL. A great mixing rum. It's strong flavour carries through whatever you mix it with. In my case it's Orange Pineapple juice for my wife. Straight up it's not bad as a sipping rum, but it’s definitely a mixer. Oak, vanilla, dark almost burnt sugar/caramel, Cognac for sure, and some baking spices. Really well balanced and A bit of a burn as a sipper. I would purchase this again for Mai Tai, Pina Coladas, and rum punch drinks.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Overall good, classical rich and smooth taste. Nothing surprising though.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

Beautiful aromas of prunes and nuts. On the sweeter side, gorgeous colour. $30CAD at SAQ. Decent legs, could be better. Better than Plantation Grande Reserve for $28 at LCBO due to its complexity.

A better mixer rather than a sipper. But you already knew that, didn't you?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 59 ratings

Rich caramel and baking spice... is it sweetened with added sugar??? Regardless, it stands out in most any mix calling for a dark. Recommended.