Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (132 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
24
54
31
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 63 ratings

Rich caramel and baking spice... is it sweetened with added sugar??? Regardless, it stands out in most any mix calling for a dark. Recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Brian from Australia with 21 ratings

I originally bought this bottle because I was after a cheaper rum to put in cocktails. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened it. On the nose, its sweet & fruity. On the palate, its spicy & smooth. I will keep a bottle of this in my bar for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by YohoYoho from United States with 7 ratings

Get a hit of molasses and caramel, reminds me of Pusser’s somewhat. Is somewhat sweet, may have added sugar, but not bothered by that. :) Great price!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by gigi_marca from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I was really surprised, for £24 I wasn't expecting such versatile rum. Is going well on it's own , on the rocks and as a mixer. Is not to strong, not to sweat , alcohol burn is pleasant, I would say quite refreshing.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by penbis from Lithuania with 1 rating

wow, just wow. this is the first rum I've tried that barely tasted like alcohol at all.
I haven't tried that many rums yet (those being captain morgan gold/black, bacardi white, havana especial), but this one just on a totally different level. beats all the whiskies I've tried too.
the flavor is something that I can't describe. it's sweet, it's saturated, it's got a really good aftertaste. I don't know how to describe it! it just tastes insanely good.
the only reason I'm giving it a 9/10 is because I am 100% positive I will eventually find something that will blow this one out of the water too. until then, this is hands down the best strong alcoholic drink I've ever tried.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by DurhamLad (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I found this little beauty whilst work away from home (UK) in the USA. I was impressed that this little gem, that I'd never heard of, tasted so good. The surprising thing is that I have since found it in my local supermarket (Asda) at a reasonable price. Naturally this has gone into my cabinet as one of my "go to - everyday" rums. For the price this is very smooth which I prefer to drink neat without ice. Ironically the 5 year, that my wife purchased by mistake, tastes even better. I'm spoiled for choice with the Plantation rums and can't wait to try more.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Serbanik15 from Romania with 7 ratings

I like the color and the aroma of this rum. It was worth the try. I really recommend this one.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour déguster avec une glace ou accompagnement ou drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 24 ratings

Very nice dark sipper rum. Overall delightful, slightly smoky and sweet taste which induces a pleasant warm feel. Straight up one of my favorite rums.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Arnis from Latvia with 5 ratings

This is so far bedt option for price quality. It is not expencive but surprisingly good. Did several timesand absolutelly satisfayed

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 82 ratings

Take Wray & Nephew White Overproof, add some sugar and water. Result: great mixture for the cocktails

Edit: pretty smooth and addictive. Incrementing the score.