Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (118 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
9
22
48
26
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Au nez on sent agrume, au goût le pêche ananas agrume et sucre brun. Un rhum épicé avec un double veillissement. J aime bien

1139213bdb10e470dc0015b4995d2e54.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by DurhamLad (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I found this little beauty whilst work away from home (UK) in the USA. I was impressed that this little gem, that I'd never heard of, tasted so good. The surprising thing is that I have since found it in my local supermarket (Asda) at a reasonable price. Naturally this has gone into my cabinet as one of my "go to - everyday" rums. For the price this is very smooth which I prefer to drink neat without ice. Ironically the 5 year, that my wife purchased by mistake, tastes even better. I'm spoiled for choice with the Plantation rums and can't wait to try more.

Fc098bab6e39b2565bc93c2799a42d5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Serbanik15 from Romania with 7 ratings

I like the color and the aroma of this rum. It was worth the try. I really recommend this one.

Ab6b8768c78a642498871b008c967dab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 127 ratings

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour déguster avec une glace ou accompagnement ou drinks.

Cde5d13e20ddf9a6ad8941818c93679b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 23 ratings

Very nice dark sipper rum. Overall delightful, slightly smoky and sweet taste which induces a pleasant warm feel. Straight up one of my favorite rums.

27ac6fccfb581f0f556369ffedb46382.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Arnis from Latvia with 5 ratings

This is so far bedt option for price quality. It is not expencive but surprisingly good. Did several timesand absolutelly satisfayed

4697beef489e15a52d4dee48d857b753.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 60 ratings

Take Wray & Nephew White Overproof, add some sugar and water. Result: great mixture for the cocktails

Edit: pretty smooth and addictive. Incrementing the score.

F44c677d84f294c6e9b517391b67bed2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Tomex from Lithuania with 3 ratings

You can't go wrong with that. Tasty and not expensive.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Like many others I have tried several offerings from Plantation. They can be hit-and-miss with their rums. This one is nearing the miss part of the spectrum.

Nose: Peppercorns, cloves, brown sugar, cinnamon and caramel
Taste: Pineapple, caramel, cinnamon and raisins with a very short and sweet aftertaste
Overall: This is not a spectacular rum in any sense. It is to sweet and simple for me, but it is very cheap and is a good value for money if you need to tighten the purse strings

72b8bf1bd105d48a743ed2c3ab1763df.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

nice fruity taste, finished with warm vanilla, smell is so good, melasa with banana, a little bit milky, thats good dark rum, could be sipper but much better for mixed, it is worth for buy, also good for beginners.

41a65763cc281b5aeed6d8f1e561be9c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 24 ratings

Аромат коньячный (чувствуется довыдержка в коньячных бочках, видимо): фрукты, чернослив, немного шоколада - очень приятный и практически без спиртяги.

Послевкусие - такое же фруктово-виноградное, недолгое, но приятное. Вкус не яркий -
скорее терпкий, чем сладкий, доминирует коньяк и ощущается спиртяга.
А вообще в чистом виде пьётся тяжеловато, как будто он чрезмерно густой (хотя по консистенции - вполне нормальный).

Aroma is cognac-like (probably because of cognac cask): fruits, dried prunes and some chocolate - pleasant and soft, spirit harshness is low.

Aftertaste is the same - fruits and grape, short and pleasant. Taste is not strong - more harsh than sweet, again very cognac-like and with spirit roughness. As a second thought, it's not a mild sipper and it feels like it's too stiff (but strangely its body seems normal).