Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (144 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
29
58
34
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

144 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 144 ratings

I was really dissapointed. I have not expected much, but I have found the taste really weird. Coke had to save it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice bronze color. On the nose are notes of exotic fruits with banana and spices with a light smoky side. In the mouth, it is very sweet, not very long. An excellent rum for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by gregorpobezin from Slovenia with 2 ratings

This is a great buy: affordable (but not cheap) and tasty. Bit exactly a great sipper, very aromatic. To me (not exactly an experienced drinker) it hints most strongly towards raisins.

Small a436f60d 2c6f 4b2e a4be d77e02e74014

Posted 6 days ago by Comeau68 from Canada with 4 ratings

This one was a gift from a friend and it does not disappoint. It is average a sipping rum but will be a staple as a mixer in my cabinet. This is one I can feel confident will deliver great rum taste when mixing for friends or myself.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Christophrr29 from United States with 13 ratings

This was good, not my favorite from Barbados. A little darker than I normally go to, but good none the less. Funky banana flavors are typical of Plantation rums.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Plantation rums are some of my favourites, not so in this particular case. Paid €26 and I hate to say it, but I'd rather have bought a cheaper dark rum like Captain Morgan Jamaican and saved a tenner.

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 11 days ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Tento rum jsem si zakoupil na vyzkoušení, poté co jsem vánočním darem dostal degustační set od firmy Plantation. Ve vůni je zřetelně cítit pomeranč, ovšem ne tak intenzivně jako v rumu Pyrat, s něčím dalším, co nemohu úplně jasně definovat, možná hořká čokoláda, ale nejsem si úplně jist. Také není tak sladký a to je možná to co mi zatím moc nechutná, ačkoliv mám rád i jiné rumy, které nejsou sladké vůbec. Uvidíme až jej budu ochutnávat znovu, třeba si k němu najdu cestu. Prozatím mi až tak moc nechutná a i po několika malých doušcích mi silně připomíná nedobrý český Božkov Tuzemák, jen malinko voňavější.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Bluegoose from New Zealand with 9 ratings

My weekly go to rum. I prefer this rum for dark and stormy. Great ester flavors. Quality Drop For the price

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by Dusterbrown from Canada with 10 ratings

Not too strong, smooth. Lots of flavor after. Overall nice

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by legwoods from Canada with 5 ratings

Parce qu'il bien commencer quelque part! Rhum avec une couleur doré orangé. Goût avec un peu de vanille et le zeste d'orange. Excellent en rhum cola.

Small 20201223 122508

Posted 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 65 ratings

Der Plantation Original Dark ist ein drei Jahre gereifter Blend aus Trinidad und Jamaica und hat 40% Alkohol Anteil. Ich habe den Rum pur verkostet und war überrascht das er trinkbar ist. Etwas Süße, Rauch, aber auch extrem kurz und klarer Alkohol schwingt mit. Habe auch einen Freund kosten lassen, welcher den Rum wesentlich teurer eingeschätzt hat.

Am Ende aber doch eher zum Mixen. Irgendwie etwas zwischen dem 3Star von Plantation und dem Havana Club 7. Ist lecker in Cola obwohl ich hier die anderen genannten oder den etwas teureren Grand Reserva besser finde. Aber für ca 15Euro macht man hier nichts falsch. Ich persönlich würde aber zum Mixen eher den 3 Star kaufen. Und zum sippen... guckt euch einfach mein Cabinet an.

The Plantation Original Dark is a three-year mature blend from Trinidad and Jamaica and has 40% alcohol content. I tasted the rum oure and was surprised that it is somehow drinkable. Some sweet, smoke, but also extremely short and clear alcohol resonates. I also had a friend who valued the rum much more expensive.

In the end, however, it's more for mixing. Somehow something between the 3Star of Plantation and the Havana Club 7. It's delicious in Coke although I find the others mentioned here or the slightly more expensive Grand Reserva better. But for about 15Euros you don't do anything wrong here. Personally, however, I would rather buy the 3 star for mixing. And for sipping... u know... see my Cabinet.