Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10 (132 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
10
24
54
31
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 145 ratings

I was really dissapointed. I have not expected much, but I have found the taste really weird. Coke had to save it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Overall good, classical rich and smooth taste. Nothing surprising though.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

Beautiful aromas of prunes and nuts. On the sweeter side, gorgeous colour. $30CAD at SAQ. Decent legs, could be better. Better than Plantation Grande Reserve for $28 at LCBO due to its complexity.

A better mixer rather than a sipper. But you already knew that, didn't you?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 64 ratings

Rich caramel and baking spice... is it sweetened with added sugar??? Regardless, it stands out in most any mix calling for a dark. Recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Schönes sattes dunkles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase breitet sich zuerst eine schwere Süsse aus, gefolgt von Karamell-, Bananen- und Holzdüften.
Im Gaumen, süsses Karamell mit kandierten tropischen Früchten und getoastetem Holz. Auch Aromen der dunklen Macht sind zu entdecken.
Im Abgang fast etwas klebrig, Karamell und Früchte.
Ein Rum für jede Bar, zum mixen super, zum pur trinken ok.

Beautiful rich dark amber in the glass.
First a heavy sweetness spreads in the nose, followed by caramel, banana and wood fragrances.
On the palate, sweet caramel with candied tropical fruits and toasted wood. There are also flavors of the dark force to discover.
In the finish almost a bit sticky, caramel and fruits.
A rum for every bar, to mix super, to sip ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

cant beat the price. on the rocks or mixed good either way

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 448 ratings

I like this rum for only $18.99 (Total Wines & More, 2017 price).

Smells and tastes of charred oak, spice, caramel, and maybe a hint of cognac. Not sweet.

Decent, though I prefer slightly sweeter rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice bronze color. On the nose are notes of exotic fruits with banana and spices with a light smoky side. In the mouth, it is very sweet, not very long. An excellent rum for cocktails.

Small 20201115 101826

Posted 7 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 59 ratings

Der Plantation Original Dark ist ein drei Jahre gereifter Blend aus Trinidad und Jamaica und hat 40% Alkohol Anteil. Ich habe den Rum pur verkostet und war überrascht das er trinkbar ist. Etwas Süße, Rauch, aber auch extrem kurz und klarer Alkohol schwingt mit. Habe auch einen Freund kosten lassen, welcher den Rum wesentlich teurer eingeschätzt hat.

Am Ende aber doch eher zum Mixen. Irgendwie etwas zwischen dem 3Star von Plantation und dem Havana Club 7. Ist lecker in Cola obwohl ich hier die anderen genannten oder den etwas teureren Grand Reserva besser finde. Aber für ca 15Euro macht man hier nichts falsch. Ich persönlich würde aber zum Mixen eher den 3 Star kaufen. Und zum sippen... guckt euch einfach mein Cabinet an.

The Plantation Original Dark is a three-year mature blend from Trinidad and Jamaica and has 40% alcohol content. I tasted the rum oure and was surprised that it is somehow drinkable. Some sweet, smoke, but also extremely short and clear alcohol resonates. I also had a friend who valued the rum much more expensive.

In the end, however, it's more for mixing. Somehow something between the 3Star of Plantation and the Havana Club 7. It's delicious in Coke although I find the others mentioned here or the slightly more expensive Grand Reserva better. But for about 15Euros you don't do anything wrong here. Personally, however, I would rather buy the 3 star for mixing. And for sipping... u know... see my Cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Alphamale76 from United States with 14 ratings

I’m convinced that Plantation continues to offer the best bang for the buck in rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mr.D from Italy with 5 ratings

very good and very drinkable dark rum not to be missed in the home selection