Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.7/10
154 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
11
31
61
38
4

Rate Plantation Original Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

154 Plantation Original Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

A strong 6 from me. Does okay for sipping, but is probably best suited as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

I wouldn't buy this one ! I'm happy i got a free sample.
I do like plantation rums but not this one. For a few $ or € more you can get the Barbados 5 year old or the grande reserve, wich are much better in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 40 ratings

I like the successor better regarding taste, burn, texture, and Dept. This stuff just burns like spicy Cajun home cooked Louisiana food but without the enjoyment of using your taste buds.

Update 5/1/2020..
I like it, enough said . I think I'm back full circle from rum,to scotch(wasn't ready), to whiskey, gin, some vodkas, tequila, now my palet is redefined... Good old fashion or Mai Tai mixer

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

It's very cheap...but still I can recommend that. Interesting taste, smoke, aroma is ok, aftertaste strange but I like it. Good to drink at parties or if you looking something to drink without any ocassion.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 27 ratings

This is drinkable. Has a lot of different flavors but not balanced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

a bit sweet but still fine as a sipper. Mild on the spice side and still good for a mixer that you dont want to use a spiced rum. enjoyable none the less and the price is good.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Lecha from Mexico with 2 ratings

Muy buen ron, destacan los aroma de la barrica de cognac de su segundo añejamiento con un ligero toque especiado, olores a madera tostada, dulce caramelo y un toque cítrico excelente para tomar solo con buen cuerpo y suave sabor. A las rocas los aromas cambian, se intensifican los olores de la vainilla y se vuelve más dulce y empalagoso. En resumen un ron complejo y de agradable sabor.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alex from Canada with 24 ratings

Did not tought much of it at first but at first sip felt like the base of all plantation rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

+ chuť je jemná
+ krásna karamelová farba
+ zaujímavá fľaša(luxusný vzhľad)
+ skvelá cena (v mojej obľúbenej predajni 13€)
+ ako rýchla varianta pohostenia návštevy vhodná voľba

- trocha cítiť liehovitosť
- krátky a ostrý dozvuk

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

I'd heard a lot about Plantation rums. They seemed legendary. I usually research rums a bit before I buy them in the store, but the reputation of the company led the charge for this impulse buy. Not a great idea on my part. This rum is sweet--cloyingly so. Whatever cocktail you use it in can easily have the amount of simple syrup reduced as an offset. The aroma is distinctly overripe bananas. That pretty much sums up this rum--cloyingly sweet, with a hint of overripe bananas. It makes a passable rum Old Fashioned, but it kind of ruins Coke. I cringed and had to force myself to finish the glass when I tried it neat. It's a mixer only--and even then not for your favorite guests.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

If you're familiar with Plantation, you know what your getting here: an exceptionally blended and carefully aged rum, with some tropical aging and an ex-Cognac barrel finish with some "dosage", beautifully bottled and brought to market at an impressive value.

Though there's little in common, I like to think of this bottle as "OFTD, Jr." It's a blend from Trinidad and Jamaica (vs. OFTD's Jamaica, Guyana, and Barbados), has been brought down to a friendly 40% (vs. 69%), and dosed with a liberal amount of sugar (OFTD not so much). But beyond that, the flavor profiles are strikingly similar—both are warm and spicy, with no hint of cheap alcohol aroma. Like all Plantation rums (even their "bar classics"), it's rather delicious on its own—especially if you don't mind sweet.

This is a fine rum to stock your bar with, and mix drinks in large quantities for your friends. It's not for subtlety or showing off, but it will deliver in spades against any other rum in its price bracket. Highly recommended.

7