Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year rum

Rate Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

It’s much alike the 21-year old, but much smoother even though it’s 90 proof. Another difference is the taste of ginger and spices. Unfortunately it’s becoming harder and harder to find, so if you get the opportunity to buy one do so if you can afford it.
Picture: My top five shelf, My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

This is labeled a twenty five year old rum, but is a blend with thirty and thirty five year old rums in it also, they labeled it twenty five as that's the youngest rum in it. This is the tastiest rum I've tried, it has great legs, taste and one of my favourite features, the slow smooth finish that tastes of honey. As I sip from my glass, I savour it with the thought that I wish I could afford to drink this delicious rum everyday!

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I had this side by side with the Appleton 30 year. Both are exceptional Appleton rums. But to me this was even better than the 30 year.

Smells and tastes of oak, almond, butterscotch, nutmeg, orange peel, and vanilla. This has just a bit more almond and orange flavor and a bit less oak than the 30 year, which is why I think I like this a little more.

If you like the Appleton rums, I'm guessing you'll love this one. I'm not a huge fan of the Appleton style, as I find them a bit too dry for my liking, which is why I only rated this an 8. Still the best Appleton I've had, and if you're a fan of their style, I'm sure you'll love it!

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

I'll fill out this review more soon. I'll second Tom by saying this is the best rum I've tried. The first few sips are layered but gentle. What really stands out in my memory is the honey aftertaste. The aftertaste was like I'd just washed down a literal spoonful of honey. Absolutely incredible.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I bought one bottle when it first was available and just got a 2nd today as a birthday gift for myself. The packaging is very nice and the bottle is special and feels great in my hands.

Wonderful aroma, slight vanilla and citrus at first and a little oak. Very long legs in the glass.

Not sweet at all and not thick in the mouth. Just the perfect mouth feel.

The finish is pleasant with what I will say is a dunder component to it. I say dunder because that is how this was described to me when I tried the Mezan XO. That rum has overpowering dunder but is very mellow and pleasant. It actually lingers and keeps reminding me to try some more.

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Dieser Appelton hat das gewisse Etwas und der Preis ist moderat für diese Qualität,da hat sich Joy wirklich nicht zu ihrem Jubiläum lumpen lassen.Gefühlsmässig stecken da ein paar wirklich gute alte Jahrgänge drin.... Den 30er braucht man hier nicht mehr zu kaufen.Beim 50er kann ich nicht mitreden aber der Preis ist so utopisch,so gut kann ein Rum gar nicht sein.Dem Hören nach ist er jedenfalls sein Geld nicht wert,der Joy aber absolut.
10 Punkte gebe ich weil er in der Jamaika Liga insbesondere Appelton absolut Oberliga spielt. Gegen einen Skeldon ,Albion oder Kirsch Caroni sind 10 Punkte natürlich nicht gerechtfertigt,aber Das ist wieder eine andere Liga......

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Appleton Estate Joy Anniversary 25y Blend while vacationing in Brussels. Lighter side of a semi dark color. Very nice and unique bottle design compared to the typical boring Appleton Estate bottles. Very strong alcohol to the smell test. Slightly smoother than your average Appleton Estate but still more or less the same basic stuff in a fancier bottle. Hard to imagine how it has this much burn for a 25y old rum. Afterburn is strong and long.

Posted over 2 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

After finding out from the “LC” that they would not be carrying this product (Brutal!!!); I was able to nab three of these bad boys in South Carolina.
I am glad to report that if your a fan of the Appleton line; you will not be disappointed.
For a rum that has been aged between 25 to 35 years; they have managed to keep the oak under control. All the signature Appleton taste and smell is there as well.
For me this is almost a 10 but I think I will give it a 9 1/2. I just wish there was something else on the finish other then oak.
My wife and I opened this on our 9th wedding anniversary, so from this point forward; this will only be sampled on future anniversaries.

Posted 14 days ago by Andrew_mitchell82@yahoo.com (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

Super smooth and can taste all the finer notes! Tasted brown butter and apricot

Posted about 2 months ago by Mrcaress from Canada with 12 ratings

I’m middle class and don’t deserve this. But once in a while you got to splurge. So glad I did. The taste. Yup! Just like making out at a cabin party with a girl who you thought was out of your league

Posted about 2 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 22 ratings

The best rum I have ever had. Smooth and so enjoyable to sip on.

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

- návyková vůně, harmonie dřeva, sladkostí, citrusy a pomeranč, koření
- v chutí sušší, 45% je cítit, jemná Jamajka, dřevo, závěr velmi dlouhý a velmi příjemně dřevitý

Posted 4 months ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 51 ratings

Great rum with notes of Cherry Cola, Banana, Pineapple, Plantains, Caramel, Citrus, Grass, and a hint of chocolate, showing a hint of Jamaican funk hampden estate is known for.

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I tried a small single of this for new years eve from the 3cl sample bottle i got. Even with such a small amount, i was blown away by the flavour and complexity! It is delicious in your mouth and the finish lasts for ages, giving you many different naturally sweet flavours in a row. Along with being the smoothest thing on earth, it is also the most delicious and complex rum i have ever tried and it is the best spirit in general i have ever tried. I'm not sure anything will beat this one for me so i have to give a 10. I will 100% be buying a bottle at some point as long as it doesn't go out of stock!

Posted 5 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

everything comes together here. well aged rums, lots of barrel characteristics without tasting like a sawmill, presented at what i think is objectively the correct proof for rum. i try to taste rums so that i can comment on the flavor profiles etc, but in this case, i was just too much in the moment of enjoying this to really make any real assessment. i guess that means i need to get a bottle. which i plan to do.

Posted 11 months ago by Emerson123 from Canada with 5 ratings

Where do I begin... This is the best rum I have ever had. Extremely smooth with a great finish. If you have the chance, you must try!

Posted 11 months ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

One of the best rums available! Don’t mix this with anything, don’t even sip it on ice. Smooth, rich, & we’ll...perfect. All for Joy & Joy for all! 🏴‍☠️

Posted about 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 256 ratings

Complex aroma, very big body with many layers and tones and incredible long aftertaste!
Rum lovers should get minimum the sample, to know how one of ethalons can taste...

Posted about 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

OK, I only tried this rum at a festival, but oh my... Joy is something truly special. And the rum as well! I can't remember exactly what it tastes like, I just know its imprinted in my brain that I have to get a bottle some day and hold on to it tightly!

Posted about 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Sehr schön gestaltete Flasche und Verpackung.
Ich konnte mal ein glas davon probieren und muss sagen, dass mich der Rum überzeugt hat.
Geschmacklich schliesse ich mich da den Tasting-notes an.
Sehr gerne würde ich meine Sammlung um diesen tollen Rum erweitern, er hat halt aber seinen Preis.

Posted about 1 year ago by FletcherChristian from United States with 3 ratings

Easily my favorite appleton's rum. All the funkiness of a good Jamaican rum with a nice smooth 25 year old body.

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I first tried this in a bar in a great little bar called "The Brig" in Falmouth, Cornwall, UK.
It cost £30 for a shot, and was served with spring water, dark chocolate and something else which I can't remember. I remember beig quite staggered at how incredibly long the finish of this rum goes on for. (I walked a mile or two afterwards and was still tasting the linger notes of truffle and earthiness.
So, I decided to buy a bottle of my own. No small decision, given the price and availability of it. I eventually paid around £220 for one.
It has taken me almost a year to drink it (there's still a drop left)
I found that my bottle did not have the same taste experience as the one in The Brig. I never quite got the same earthy, truffley notes that I did the first time. Perhaps it is the amount of exposure to air which made the difference, I really don't know.

Anyway ... It has much the same basic characteristics of Appletons 12-year old rare blend, but feels a little more finely tuned, as you would expect.
The oakiness is there, but unlike the 12 y/o, it is balanced perfectly into the mix of vanilla, brown sugar and caramel. There is considerably less burn than the 12 y/o, so no ice cube needed to soothe the burn.

I think that one really special aspect of this rum is the way the flavours transition in your mouth. It's like one note begins to fade just as another builds and comes to the fore. It really is a taste journey.

So why only 8 out of 10? ... the price.
Maybe I'll get another one, but I have a lot of other rums to try and I could buy several of them for what a bottle of this costs. That said, if you have the means, it is definitely a rum you should try before you die.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

This stuff is very good .

On the nose definitely orange and bannana.

Drinking is lovely on the rocks with a smooth rum taste then you can tell has been blended over years and years of trial and error ...

A nice nod to the only female blender to work at Appleton , Joy ....

Posted over 1 year ago by LSM from United States with 2 ratings

We are fortunate to live in a time of Joy Rum. There will be a time when these bottles disappear in the wild. For the current moderate price an amazing long aged rum that is quite possibly the most delicious and exquisite available now. The real kicker is that it is reasonable in price that I am going to bunker a couple extra to last as long as I need it to last.