Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year rum

Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Jamaica | Aged

9.2/10
51 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
20
22

Rate Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

51 Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 57 ratings

Great rum with notes of Cherry Cola, Banana, Pineapple, Plantains, Caramel, Citrus, Grass, and a hint of chocolate, showing a hint of Jamaican funk hampden estate is known for.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

It’s much alike the 21-year old, but much smoother even though it’s 90 proof. Another difference is the taste of ginger and spices. Unfortunately it’s becoming harder and harder to find, so if you get the opportunity to buy one do so if you can afford it.
Picture: My top five shelf, My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I had this side by side with the Appleton 30 year. Both are exceptional Appleton rums. But to me this was even better than the 30 year.

Smells and tastes of oak, almond, butterscotch, nutmeg, orange peel, and vanilla. This has just a bit more almond and orange flavor and a bit less oak than the 30 year, which is why I think I like this a little more.

If you like the Appleton rums, I'm guessing you'll love this one. I'm not a huge fan of the Appleton style, as I find them a bit too dry for my liking, which is why I only rated this an 8. Still the best Appleton I've had, and if you're a fan of their style, I'm sure you'll love it!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 14 gpl. It’s doubtful that I will get a chance to taste the 30 or 50 year old Vintages which is why I give this 10 rating. The standard Appleton taste profile of oak, smoke, and vanilla is present but this rum has a honey and orange taste that smooths and balances the rum. It’s a masterpiece of rum blending and is a must have for Appleton rum lovers.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Quite an expensive bottle of rum and thats a reason I didn't rate it any higher, its very nice but there are lots better for a fraction of the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

UPDATE:
I forgot I tried this (telling), and gave it another go. Smooth and light, but BITTER. Oak and smoke, but nothing interested. In fact, it reminded me of burnt rice.

My original review is below.
---------------
Tried it side-by-side with Appleton Reserve Blend as a current base/standard for Appleton, and also the Appleton Estate Very Rare Limited Edition 30 Year, what I thought would be its nearest peer (I don't have the 21 on hand).

By far this 25yo is the most mellow. In a watered down sort of way, not an elegant way. Has the least flavor, seems the least Jamaican of the three. Oak on the nose, disappointment on the tongue. I can find the W&N funk in the Blend, and the aged richness in the 30, but nothing to write home about with the 25.

It's good rum, but I just can't justify past a 7. Maybe I got a bottle that was off? That would be a shame.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

This is labeled a twenty five year old rum, but is a blend with thirty and thirty five year old rums in it also, they labeled it twenty five as that's the youngest rum in it. This is the tastiest rum I've tried, it has great legs, taste and one of my favourite features, the slow smooth finish that tastes of honey. As I sip from my glass, I savour it with the thought that I wish I could afford to drink this delicious rum everyday!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I'll fill out this review more soon. I'll second Tom by saying this is the best rum I've tried. The first few sips are layered but gentle. What really stands out in my memory is the honey aftertaste. The aftertaste was like I'd just washed down a literal spoonful of honey. Absolutely incredible.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I bought one bottle when it first was available and just got a 2nd today as a birthday gift for myself. The packaging is very nice and the bottle is special and feels great in my hands.

Wonderful aroma, slight vanilla and citrus at first and a little oak. Very long legs in the glass.

Not sweet at all and not thick in the mouth. Just the perfect mouth feel.

The finish is pleasant with what I will say is a dunder component to it. I say dunder because that is how this was described to me when I tried the Mezan XO. That rum has overpowering dunder but is very mellow and pleasant. It actually lingers and keeps reminding me to try some more.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by EvilAFI from Canada with 4 ratings

N- Sweet molasses and tropical fruits, light funk and a barrel spice (maybe oak).
P- hear the oak comes, a nice oak and sweet balance here, the funk is still light, green banana is the main fruit I get along with papaya (both with a crystallized sugar coating)
F - it’s drier than expected, the oak and spice are relentless, (sips of water between rum helps the flavors come through), ripe tropical fruits linger in the end and caramel pokes through.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Brian from Australia with 27 ratings

I had the pleasure to taste a sample of this rum recently & was so impressed. So beautifully smooth. It’s a shame it’s almost impossible to buy now.