Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year rum

Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Jamaica | Aged

9.3/10 (38 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
11
21

Rate Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 426 ratings

This stuff is very good .

On the nose definitely orange and bannana.

Drinking is lovely on the rocks with a smooth rum taste then you can tell has been blended over years and years of trial and error ...

A nice nod to the only female blender to work at Appleton , Joy ....

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

It’s much alike the 21-year old, but much smoother even though it’s 90 proof. Another difference is the taste of ginger and spices. Unfortunately it’s becoming harder and harder to find, so if you get the opportunity to buy one do so if you can afford it.
Picture: My top five shelf, My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

This is labeled a twenty five year old rum, but is a blend with thirty and thirty five year old rums in it also, they labeled it twenty five as that's the youngest rum in it. This is the tastiest rum I've tried, it has great legs, taste and one of my favourite features, the slow smooth finish that tastes of honey. As I sip from my glass, I savour it with the thought that I wish I could afford to drink this delicious rum everyday!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I had this side by side with the Appleton 30 year. Both are exceptional Appleton rums. But to me this was even better than the 30 year.

Smells and tastes of oak, almond, butterscotch, nutmeg, orange peel, and vanilla. This has just a bit more almond and orange flavor and a bit less oak than the 30 year, which is why I think I like this a little more.

If you like the Appleton rums, I'm guessing you'll love this one. I'm not a huge fan of the Appleton style, as I find them a bit too dry for my liking, which is why I only rated this an 8. Still the best Appleton I've had, and if you're a fan of their style, I'm sure you'll love it!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I'll fill out this review more soon. I'll second Tom by saying this is the best rum I've tried. The first few sips are layered but gentle. What really stands out in my memory is the honey aftertaste. The aftertaste was like I'd just washed down a literal spoonful of honey. Absolutely incredible.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I bought one bottle when it first was available and just got a 2nd today as a birthday gift for myself. The packaging is very nice and the bottle is special and feels great in my hands.

Wonderful aroma, slight vanilla and citrus at first and a little oak. Very long legs in the glass.

Not sweet at all and not thick in the mouth. Just the perfect mouth feel.

The finish is pleasant with what I will say is a dunder component to it. I say dunder because that is how this was described to me when I tried the Mezan XO. That rum has overpowering dunder but is very mellow and pleasant. It actually lingers and keeps reminding me to try some more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Dieser Appelton hat das gewisse Etwas und der Preis ist moderat für diese Qualität,da hat sich Joy wirklich nicht zu ihrem Jubiläum lumpen lassen.Gefühlsmässig stecken da ein paar wirklich gute alte Jahrgänge drin.... Den 30er braucht man hier nicht mehr zu kaufen.Beim 50er kann ich nicht mitreden aber der Preis ist so utopisch,so gut kann ein Rum gar nicht sein.Dem Hören nach ist er jedenfalls sein Geld nicht wert,der Joy aber absolut.
10 Punkte gebe ich weil er in der Jamaika Liga insbesondere Appelton absolut Oberliga spielt. Gegen einen Skeldon ,Albion oder Kirsch Caroni sind 10 Punkte natürlich nicht gerechtfertigt,aber Das ist wieder eine andere Liga......

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Appleton Estate Joy Anniversary 25y Blend while vacationing in Brussels. Lighter side of a semi dark color. Very nice and unique bottle design compared to the typical boring Appleton Estate bottles. Very strong alcohol to the smell test. Slightly smoother than your average Appleton Estate but still more or less the same basic stuff in a fancier bottle. Hard to imagine how it has this much burn for a 25y old rum. Afterburn is strong and long.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

After finding out from the “LC” that they would not be carrying this product (Brutal!!!); I was able to nab three of these bad boys in South Carolina.
I am glad to report that if your a fan of the Appleton line; you will not be disappointed.
For a rum that has been aged between 25 to 35 years; they have managed to keep the oak under control. All the signature Appleton taste and smell is there as well.
For me this is almost a 10 but I think I will give it a 9 1/2. I just wish there was something else on the finish other then oak.
My wife and I opened this on our 9th wedding anniversary, so from this point forward; this will only be sampled on future anniversaries.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Za me lepsi volba nez Appleton 30, neni tolik drevity. Pro mne prijemna chut. 9/10

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Andrew_mitchell82@yahoo.com (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

Super smooth and can taste all the finer notes! Tasted brown butter and apricot