Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year rum

Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Jamaica | Aged

9.2/10 (40 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
12
21

Rate Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


40 Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

This is part of a 3 cl tasting set given to me as a present (a damn fine present)

Very flowery nose of pear and pinapple, with a rich amber color.

Full mouthfeel with caramel, and quite a lot of spice. Nice balance of alcohol and fruit. Not terribly sweet.

rich and spicy finish with a touch of burn in the throat on swallowing, a lingering spice in the mouth.

Truly this is well made, and complex rum. I can see many loving this, and without question, I would never deny an offer of some. I'm enjoying, but not gushing over it...honestly, I'd need some levening of the spice to give it any higher rating.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

It’s much alike the 21-year old, but much smoother even though it’s 90 proof. Another difference is the taste of ginger and spices. Unfortunately it’s becoming harder and harder to find, so if you get the opportunity to buy one do so if you can afford it.
Picture: My top five shelf, My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 448 ratings

I had this side by side with the Appleton 30 year. Both are exceptional Appleton rums. But to me this was even better than the 30 year.

Smells and tastes of oak, almond, butterscotch, nutmeg, orange peel, and vanilla. This has just a bit more almond and orange flavor and a bit less oak than the 30 year, which is why I think I like this a little more.

If you like the Appleton rums, I'm guessing you'll love this one. I'm not a huge fan of the Appleton style, as I find them a bit too dry for my liking, which is why I only rated this an 8. Still the best Appleton I've had, and if you're a fan of their style, I'm sure you'll love it!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Quite an expensive bottle of rum and thats a reason I didn't rate it any higher, its very nice but there are lots better for a fraction of the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

This is labeled a twenty five year old rum, but is a blend with thirty and thirty five year old rums in it also, they labeled it twenty five as that's the youngest rum in it. This is the tastiest rum I've tried, it has great legs, taste and one of my favourite features, the slow smooth finish that tastes of honey. As I sip from my glass, I savour it with the thought that I wish I could afford to drink this delicious rum everyday!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I'll fill out this review more soon. I'll second Tom by saying this is the best rum I've tried. The first few sips are layered but gentle. What really stands out in my memory is the honey aftertaste. The aftertaste was like I'd just washed down a literal spoonful of honey. Absolutely incredible.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I bought one bottle when it first was available and just got a 2nd today as a birthday gift for myself. The packaging is very nice and the bottle is special and feels great in my hands.

Wonderful aroma, slight vanilla and citrus at first and a little oak. Very long legs in the glass.

Not sweet at all and not thick in the mouth. Just the perfect mouth feel.

The finish is pleasant with what I will say is a dunder component to it. I say dunder because that is how this was described to me when I tried the Mezan XO. That rum has overpowering dunder but is very mellow and pleasant. It actually lingers and keeps reminding me to try some more.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kiwipirate from New Zealand with 13 ratings

I got exceptionally lucky and managed to pick two of these bottles up in a two for the price of one deal through Duty Free last year and to say it was money well spent would be an understatement.

I am just starting on my high end rum journey and Appleton's Estate Joy has possibly been the best I have ever had so far. Its very smooth, sweet and delicious on the nose but not too sweet that it overdoes it, very well balanced, has a delicious silky lingering aftertaste and if its left to breathe for a while (as any good sipper should get the chance) has little in the way of alcoholic whiff about it.

I've tried some nice premiums, like Diplomatico Ambassador, Ron Zacapa XO, El Dorado 21, Flor De Cana 25 and I have to say, on overall points balance, this would be the best.

A tad on the pricey side but the sort of thing you would want to break out on a really special occasion with good friends or that once in a year expensive treat to share on a sunset beach with a significant other.

I give this 9 out of 10 only because I don't feel I would be doing justice by giving it 10 without having increased my knowledge of fine rums a little more. Would absolutely recommend a try.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Dieser Appelton hat das gewisse Etwas und der Preis ist moderat für diese Qualität,da hat sich Joy wirklich nicht zu ihrem Jubiläum lumpen lassen.Gefühlsmässig stecken da ein paar wirklich gute alte Jahrgänge drin.... Den 30er braucht man hier nicht mehr zu kaufen.Beim 50er kann ich nicht mitreden aber der Preis ist so utopisch,so gut kann ein Rum gar nicht sein.Dem Hören nach ist er jedenfalls sein Geld nicht wert,der Joy aber absolut.
10 Punkte gebe ich weil er in der Jamaika Liga insbesondere Appelton absolut Oberliga spielt. Gegen einen Skeldon ,Albion oder Kirsch Caroni sind 10 Punkte natürlich nicht gerechtfertigt,aber Das ist wieder eine andere Liga......

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I first tried this in a bar in a great little bar called "The Brig" in Falmouth, Cornwall, UK.
It cost £30 for a shot, and was served with spring water, dark chocolate and something else which I can't remember. I remember beig quite staggered at how incredibly long the finish of this rum goes on for. (I walked a mile or two afterwards and was still tasting the linger notes of truffle and earthiness.
So, I decided to buy a bottle of my own. No small decision, given the price and availability of it. I eventually paid around £220 for one.
It has taken me almost a year to drink it (there's still a drop left)
I found that my bottle did not have the same taste experience as the one in The Brig. I never quite got the same earthy, truffley notes that I did the first time. Perhaps it is the amount of exposure to air which made the difference, I really don't know.

Anyway ... It has much the same basic characteristics of Appletons 12-year old rare blend, but feels a little more finely tuned, as you would expect.
The oakiness is there, but unlike the 12 y/o, it is balanced perfectly into the mix of vanilla, brown sugar and caramel. There is considerably less burn than the 12 y/o, so no ice cube needed to soothe the burn.

I think that one really special aspect of this rum is the way the flavours transition in your mouth. It's like one note begins to fade just as another builds and comes to the fore. It really is a taste journey.

So why only 8 out of 10? ... the price.
Maybe I'll get another one, but I have a lot of other rums to try and I could buy several of them for what a bottle of this costs. That said, if you have the means, it is definitely a rum you should try before you die.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Appleton Estate Joy Anniversary 25y Blend while vacationing in Brussels. Lighter side of a semi dark color. Very nice and unique bottle design compared to the typical boring Appleton Estate bottles. Very strong alcohol to the smell test. Slightly smoother than your average Appleton Estate but still more or less the same basic stuff in a fancier bottle. Hard to imagine how it has this much burn for a 25y old rum. Afterburn is strong and long.