Posting your rating...
Leblon Light Cachaca rum

Rate Leblon Light Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


43 Leblon Light Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4a9a0151f44f56e12296768f5003b610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

Here in the USA, true artisanal Brazilian cachaca is hard to come by. I've had a special order in for 2 other light cachacas for almost a month now and 1 was denied as it isn't offered by the importer anymore and the other is Salinas which hasn't arrived and is still offered by a large import conglomerate so, I don't know what the issue is. Anyway, I've been reading about cachaca and Leblon seems to be a recipe targeted for American consumption. This bugs me and I've gone out of my way to try to obtain an authentic model of which to base my nose and palate on. However, my impatience and frustration got the best of me and Leblon went on sale so, here we are. The "sale" price was still $24.99. For an unaged sugar cane distillate, that is premium territory IMO. Of course it came with the plastic muddler as to suggest a sole intended purpose, Caipirinhas.
Let's get to it. The bottle pops nice and loud and I immediately gave it a curious whiff. Yep... its vegetal,musty and peppery with a little black olive, cooked zucchini or squash and a little rubber tinge and slight breath of vanilla yogurt. Not much astringency on the nose which was pleasant. In the glass there is no missing that hefty bouquet but did seem to calm down quite a bit. In the mouth it is a light and watery but not overly so. It is pleasantly creamy as well. I immediately get a hint of sweetness and peppery-vegetal-grassiness that seemed quite relaxed compared to the strong nose. There was a little lemon and black olive on the back end that led to a crisp finish with minimal and refreshing warmth. I really thought the flavor was going to be much more vegetal as the nose suggested however, to my delight it was much more rounded. This was both lightly savory and lightly sweet. It makes great caipirinhas. I also made some where I cut back the Leblon 1/2 oz and substituted Wray and Nephew overproof white rum and made killer caipirinhas! Hopefully my other cachaca will come soon and I can get a better perspective. I say give it a try if the price is right.
***EDIT***
I've added 1 more star because I've now bought a second bottle. It just pairs with the Wray and Nephew overproof white rum so well. Cheers!

9d130c931bfe27ce8567cfdab49cb7ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 21 ratings

I searched for a Passable Cachaca to experiment with for Caipirinha's and this is what I found. It is not bad and will make a good drink. I will keep looking though because it is not quite what I was looking for. As a side note, I found a recipe for Caipirinha that involved Dragon Fruit that spot on for this brand.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 136 ratings

This was my first Cachaca and my last. It has a strong smell of fermented grass that I found unpleasant. Sipping it straight was like tasting tequila but it will have to be a mixer. Not a nice vintage rum, which I prefer.

F2e47784aff4d69dd46ece9a938edc39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

I read someone say this has a flavor like tequila. When I smelled this, it had an offensive smell! Horrible! Like a fart and a rotten banana! Fortunately it did not taste like that when I fought my repulsed instinct and forced myself to drink it. It did not burn too badly, and mixed well with citrus and pineapple. That being said, I would not buy again. All I taste is rotten fruit, no complexity or "tequila" smokiness at all. I have tried other cachaca brands and absolutely did taste tequila but not in this. Not a good first impression of cachaca...

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Don't be swayed by the haters...they admit that they don't like cachaca in general. This particular brand is naturally sweet and buttery, with some fruit and spice as well. Agricole lovers will really enjoy this one. It's wonderful on its own. Goes down smooth - it's very deceptive - and before you know it you're ready for another. Several anothers later, it's "Where are my pants?"

C3abaccd6aa534da6d84010317410f46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

I wanted to see what all the hoopla was about cachaca was. Tried this one. Never did I expect to wish I was drinking Valzola so badly! The aroma was pure alcohol with chemical undertones. The flavor was unprocessed garbage. Going down have me acid reflux for a few minutes. Avoid this at all costs.

052f7ca3e175b0b36a5ff11b596b6917.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

bought this to try and recreate a mixed drink I really enjoyed at a restaurant. Didn't work out so well. Tried it in a blended frozen fruit drink, but has an odd taste that isn't even covered in the fruity drink.

47b532a7bd46e86bb7829e078c1e7886.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Bought a bottle after reading about it. Didn't care for taste or smell at all. Ended up giving bottle away. I'll stick to my favorite rums.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This one is a little harsher than mae de ouro but a little fruitier and makes a better capairinha. For a much cheaper price Ypioca or 51 will make as good a mixer but are not as good if you want to sip occasionally.

One thing that is bothering me - I see people giving this low ratings of 2-4 because they don't like cachaca. That is not fair, a rating should be based on quality not on your personal preference.

Ab6b8768c78a642498871b008c967dab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 127 ratings

A boire en drink comme on le fait au Brésil un caihipirinhas. Très rafraîchissant l'été mais attention de ne pas trop en boire!