Posting your rating...
Leblon Light Cachaca rum

Rate Leblon Light Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


43 Leblon Light Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

Good cachaca to start with.

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

Here in the USA, true artisanal Brazilian cachaca is hard to come by. I've had a special order in for 2 other light cachacas for almost a month now and 1 was denied as it isn't offered by the importer anymore and the other is Salinas which hasn't arrived and is still offered by a large import conglomerate so, I don't know what the issue is. Anyway, I've been reading about cachaca and Leblon seems to be a recipe targeted for American consumption. This bugs me and I've gone out of my way to try to obtain an authentic model of which to base my nose and palate on. However, my impatience and frustration got the best of me and Leblon went on sale so, here we are. The "sale" price was still $24.99. For an unaged sugar cane distillate, that is premium territory IMO. Of course it came with the plastic muddler as to suggest a sole intended purpose, Caipirinhas.
Let's get to it. The bottle pops nice and loud and I immediately gave it a curious whiff. Yep... its vegetal,musty and peppery with a little black olive, cooked zucchini or squash and a little rubber tinge and slight breath of vanilla yogurt. Not much astringency on the nose which was pleasant. In the glass there is no missing that hefty bouquet but did seem to calm down quite a bit. In the mouth it is a light and watery but not overly so. It is pleasantly creamy as well. I immediately get a hint of sweetness and peppery-vegetal-grassiness that seemed quite relaxed compared to the strong nose. There was a little lemon and black olive on the back end that led to a crisp finish with minimal and refreshing warmth. I really thought the flavor was going to be much more vegetal as the nose suggested however, to my delight it was much more rounded. This was both lightly savory and lightly sweet. It makes great caipirinhas. I also made some where I cut back the Leblon 1/2 oz and substituted Wray and Nephew overproof white rum and made killer caipirinhas! Hopefully my other cachaca will come soon and I can get a better perspective. I say give it a try if the price is right.
***EDIT***
I've added 1 more star because I've now bought a second bottle. It just pairs with the Wray and Nephew overproof white rum so well. Cheers!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 18 ratings

I searched for a Passable Cachaca to experiment with for Caipirinha's and this is what I found. It is not bad and will make a good drink. I will keep looking though because it is not quite what I was looking for. As a side note, I found a recipe for Caipirinha that involved Dragon Fruit that spot on for this brand.

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

This was my first Cachaca and my last. It has a strong smell of fermented grass that I found unpleasant. Sipping it straight was like tasting tequila but it will have to be a mixer. Not a nice vintage rum, which I prefer.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

I read someone say this has a flavor like tequila. When I smelled this, it had an offensive smell! Horrible! Like a fart and a rotten banana! Fortunately it did not taste like that when I fought my repulsed instinct and forced myself to drink it. It did not burn too badly, and mixed well with citrus and pineapple. That being said, I would not buy again. All I taste is rotten fruit, no complexity or "tequila" smokiness at all. I have tried other cachaca brands and absolutely did taste tequila but not in this. Not a good first impression of cachaca...

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Don't be swayed by the haters...they admit that they don't like cachaca in general. This particular brand is naturally sweet and buttery, with some fruit and spice as well. Agricole lovers will really enjoy this one. It's wonderful on its own. Goes down smooth - it's very deceptive - and before you know it you're ready for another. Several anothers later, it's "Where are my pants?"

Posted about 5 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

I wanted to see what all the hoopla was about cachaca was. Tried this one. Never did I expect to wish I was drinking Valzola so badly! The aroma was pure alcohol with chemical undertones. The flavor was unprocessed garbage. Going down have me acid reflux for a few minutes. Avoid this at all costs.

Posted about 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

bought this to try and recreate a mixed drink I really enjoyed at a restaurant. Didn't work out so well. Tried it in a blended frozen fruit drink, but has an odd taste that isn't even covered in the fruity drink.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Bought a bottle after reading about it. Didn't care for taste or smell at all. Ended up giving bottle away. I'll stick to my favorite rums.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This one is a little harsher than mae de ouro but a little fruitier and makes a better capairinha. For a much cheaper price Ypioca or 51 will make as good a mixer but are not as good if you want to sip occasionally.

One thing that is bothering me - I see people giving this low ratings of 2-4 because they don't like cachaca. That is not fair, a rating should be based on quality not on your personal preference.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

A boire en drink comme on le fait au Brésil un caihipirinhas. Très rafraîchissant l'été mais attention de ne pas trop en boire!

Posted 2 months ago by abrarey from United States with 17 ratings

Not many Cachacas are available in my area, after trying 51 and Ypioca, this was the next on my list. On the nose very herbal like sugarcane juice. in the palate herbal as well, sweet, creamy and some hints of some vegetables like yucca or something else I don't get completely.
I Like the aftertaste very pleasant the herbal notes last long time.
The Caipirinha came pretty tasty as well.
I definitely think the aged version of this one should be pretty good, if only I can find it in one of my local stores.

Posted 10 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is a very spicy and hot Cachaca. I would get this for my bar, but I could see it being used in a Rock of Brazil.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

This was the first Cachaca that I have encountered. I didn’t know what to expect, but once I found a recipe for caipirinhas, I was mildly satisfied. I want to search and experiment more. Wish me luck!

Posted over 1 year ago by HercuePoirot from United States with 4 ratings

A little harsh neat. Mellows and opens up in a caipi, and keeps an interesting vegetal character. There are better cachaças at this price point, if you can find a selection — but Leblon seems to be a little more widely available.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pekaz from United States with 1 rating

After drinking a variety of Cachaças in Cuba, I was excited to find an acceptable product here in the States, so I could make some Caipirinhas and such.

Unfortunately this will not be a repeat purchase. I suppose technically it is not a bad proxy, but there is that understated rotting vegetation odor / back of palate scent I can’t escape. I made a couple different drinks and so far still am feeling underwhelmed.
It was no “3 Buck Chuck”, so I’ll keep working on ways to use this bottle up, hopefully will stumble upon something that helps to overcome that pungent odor.

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Grassy, vegetal, briney... I really like it. Easy enough to find, and fairly cheap. Good Caipirinhas too.

Posted over 1 year ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

This is my first cachasa and I am hooked. Very smooth and light with interesting taste that goes way beyond simple silver/white rum. If you’re given a chance to try a Caprinia then ask for Leblon as you will not be disappointed.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I have not had much luck with cachacas, especially after drinking Ypioca many years ago. This one is not repulsive, especially compared to the few very bad rums that I have had the misfortune of trying recently over the past 3 months of intense research. It is distinctively cachaca, but the floral tones make it almost able to sip neat. After all, it was specifically intended for the USA market, which is only one percent of all cachaca produced. This one would also lend itself to more drinks than just caipirinhas. Now if only the Abelha brand could become available in the USA, I would be more than glad to try those.

As for the caipirinha that is the national drink of Brazil, it is nothing more than the original Cuban Daiquiri made with Brazilian cachaca instead of rum. Cachaca is basically the Brazilian version of rhum agricole distilled from sugar cane juice. The vast majority of rum is distilled from the by-product of sugar refining, which is molasses. The holy trinity of the Caribbean which the Daiquiri is based upon consists of lime, sugar, and rum. The vast differences in the tastes of rums and cachacas is what really makes the difference in cocktails, which is why we all need to learn from these reviews and other sources.

Update on March 22, 2018: I sampled three different juices mixed in equal parts with this cachaca while smoking some Jamaican jerk chicken outdoors on this gorgeous spring day. The results will describe the flavors of this one better than any other description. The first "juice" was one part lime juice and two parts simple syrup to three parts cachaca. This is based on the old Bajan rhyme, "One of sour, Two of sweet, Three of strong, Four of weak", with weak meaning ice cubes or water. This was basically my Caribbean version of the caipirinha and very close to tasting like the Brazilian version. This one worked best and was really good. Then came equal parts coconut juice and Leblon. This was good, but an artisanal cachaca would work better because this juice really allows the cachaca flavors to show. The third choice would have been my theoretical best, but equal parts pineapple nectar and Leblon basically obliterated any taste of cachaca. So if you happen to get a bad cachaca, pineapple nectar will disguise the taste much better than in a caipirinha. Adding equal amounts of the coconut mixture to the remaining pineapple mixture in the glass proved to be a very poor excuse for a Pina Colada that really needs rum. Hope this all helps!

Update March 25, 2018: There were no ill after effects after drinking too much Leblon, so my rating remains at a 5, which means that I would consider buying it again, especially when I get in a mood for a very different taste in my rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

I'm inexperienced with cachaca, but was suitably satisfied with this one's bones tasted in a caipirinha or two.

Posted over 2 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

this taste exacly like tequila but with way more sugar than normal

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Leblon Light Cachaca is easily available in the US, but far from the high quality Cachaca's found in Brazil. It's not a neat sipper like most of the high quality Brazilian Cachaca's are. Makes a decent Caipirinha, but there are dozens of better Cachaca's for you to try out.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This cachaca isn't bad. You can enjoy it straight though does better mixed. Fruity, grassy and semi sweet Cachaca that is relatively smooth with no harsh flavors or strong burn at the back end.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

Not as tasty as it looks. Maybe a better mixer but not meant to be ingested neat or on the rocks.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Clear, smells a bit like chocolate tequila. Not much of a sipper. But this is he first Cachaca I've had so my review is rookie.




#