Posting your rating...
Lamb's Navy rum

Lamb’s Navy Rum is a blend of Caribbean rums that are aged four years in whiskey and bourbon barrels.

The original Lamb's Navy rum recipe, created by Alfred Lamb, blended 18 different rums sourced from Jamaica, Trinidad, Barbados and Guyana. Lamb began blending the rums in England in 1859 and references the British Royal Navy in its name.

Rate Lamb's Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


106 Lamb's Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Aidas from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

A top class and long established Rum, excellent with black current juice, or, just add a touch of water. Highly recommended, never get a hangover in the morning and always keep me eye on the price.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

I actually don't care for this rum . Don't get me wrong I'll drink it but cut it with cola

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

A good basic dark rum, nice sweet flavour, but not overly so as some have suggested. Notes of Dark Chocolate and Coffee, a hint of spice and a lovely slightly burnt molasses taste. I enjoy sipping it neat. Amazing value for the price. Not in the league of Pussars or the more expensive, but a good everyday dark rum and the best of the budget Navy/Dark Rums I have tasted so far.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rob from Canada with 7 ratings

Full flavoured, dark and quite enjoyable rum if price/value is your concern

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Honestly I thought it would be as bad as Morgan's but it's not. Sweet with molasses and plum. Quite pleasant really.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

A great rum for mixing. Consistent and reliable quality. Not a deluxe reserve rum, but neither a poor mixer. Its one of my favourites, because I love the flavour, which is balanced against the alcohol well.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Possibly the first rum I ever tried. It's drinkable but hardly bears comparison to any rum with a touch of craft. Cheap, ok to mix, sluggable and rather artificial in terms of what rum should taste like.

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Black strap molasses dominates both your nose and tongue , spicey , burnt treacle , no real authenticity in my opinion. Artificially forced , but in saying that makes a decent rum n coke , but only two then I'd had enough of it !

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

A classic rum, very easy to pick up in any off license, pretty cheap, and a taste that matches. Not terrible, just very simple dark rum, only good when mixed with plenty of coke.

Posted almost 3 years ago by John Fladd from United States with 3 ratings

I lived overseas for a couple of years in my youth and Lamb's and tonic was always a solid, dependable choice.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Devan from New Zealand with 10 ratings

This is my first Lambs Rum and as expected for the $40NZD price, I knew this was going to be a simple, non complex rum with obvious flavours.
I was attracted to the bottle which caught my eye due to the St George cross emblazoned across the label. A darkened rum is enclosed and matches my wooden furniture nicely. Having tasted cheaper rums in the past I'm immediately thinking burnt treacle, black strap molasses, cautiously hot on the palate, maybe some oak, maybe some mild spice. In the glass swirls a clingy liquid which presents medium to thin legs. Molasses and caramel are on the nose once the glass is allowed to settle. It is obvious and dominates. Black strap molasses carries through to tasting, caramel notes are present as is a spiciness. I'm trying to find the oak, but it's not obvious. I want to try with ice and coke thinking this will carry nicely with the cola as I get some nuttiness in the flavor profile also.
This rum says hello and goodbye just as quick as it arrives. A warmness carries through to the stomach but nothing left in my mouth worth acknowledging.
Overall, a solid mixing rum. However will not be purchasing again, as it just does not stand out as a contender for my attention.

Posted 7 days ago by JAN92 from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Really not a fan. Even as a mixer it didn't go down well at all.

Posted 15 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

For low end rum, this is one of the better ones for sure.

Posted 17 days ago by Joey7415963 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Tough stuff, it'll put hairs on your chest and also degrease engines... Tastes exactly like the rum in rum and raisin ice cream.

Posted about 1 month ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

For a long time the most prevalent Rum in the UK, First rum i ever tried and i liked it so here i am starting to explore the world of Rum

Posted about 2 months ago by BRAVESTar79 from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

This was the first time I've ever tried dark rum. Not too bad, it went down without complaint 👍

Posted 2 months ago by J12kef from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

A simple typical navy rum, not nasty but cheap and it shows. There’s much better out there. Strong molasses taste.

Posted 3 months ago by Twisted1 from United States with 3 ratings

Had to try this over in Scotland. Nice flavor. Too bad we can't get this in the US

Posted 3 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

I think you have to be an easy person to appreciate this room, the bottle is kind of cool. But that’s about all I got to say on that. Pollute this one with a sofa and even that won’t help.

Posted 4 months ago by Jonbee56 from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

It’s ok, the type that every household has a bottle of. God for using with a mixer.

Posted 5 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

May seem like an old man's rum but this is actually a good one

Posted 7 months ago by kevie from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I sampled this on a night with my brother-in-law and found it quite drinkable, but also a bit non-descript. My regular mixing rum is Trawler and it has bags of flavour. However I found this one like a watered down version: it has mild notes of sweet, caramelised, brown sugar along with notes of molasses and toffee. At £15 a bottle this is well worth the price, it won't knock your favourite off its top spot, but it's a perfectly acceptable dark rum.

Posted 7 months ago by jbuk101 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

The high rating is probably more nostalgia than anything else, but pretty much everyone has to have a bottle of this lying around. Relatively cheap for a bucket full, mixes well with cola - and can be seen in most pubs, offy's and supermarkets. Growing up, it was the only rum I ever saw, so naturally its the first bottle of rum I ever bought for myself.

Posted 8 months ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

This is darker than my normal choices, but from the first nose, you realise it’s a solid old fashioned rum.
Just about smooth enough to sip over ice, but add a slice of lime, then coke and it comes into its own. One of the best for rum and coke.
Enjoy graham.