Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

United States | Aged

7.4/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
12
7
4

Rate Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 11 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

Taste like added sugar flavorings and coloring to me. It’s dark smooth and sweet so is Aunt Jemima syrup which this rum reminds me of. Tried it several times sure I’ll have it again, but always with full rocks.

Small 24e26e66 c6c7 425d a133 3a533f9d023a

Posted 4 months ago by John frederick from United States with 58 ratings

Ok where to start. Having foolishly bought many bottles I thought I hadn't tried/rated but in reality had, I checked RR prior to buying this. Bought on price ($40) and the 24 thinking that meant age. Initially saddened as I poured over a block, looked thin and light. Surprisingly had a pretty good flavor profile, on the sweet side with vanilla, caramel and the typically sweet notes. 86 proof but hides it well. Looked to see what island it was from and boom-Florida-wtf? Papa is a nod to Hemingway and the label tells some story about his character and legacy, blah blah. With that as the marketing strategy this could easily have been a bottle of disappointment and bitterness, thus the enigma as it was pretty darn good over ice. The marquesas now has my attention, where to find it will be the next quest

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Aye, "overboard" be a pirate pun. This rum be far better than most rate it. She smells sweet of spices and caramel and a bit of oak. This gal be sweet, but not TOO sweet, just as fine lady should be. The caramel flavor does not carry over into the taste as much, but there definitely be dark chocolate. Not as much as the Vizcaya VXOP 21, but enough to say, "arrgh, there be chocolate here." There be a hint of vanilla too - nice to have on board. There be more burn goin' down the hatch than some of the more sweeter rums, but only on the first pass. This be a truly special, sweet-but-not-too-sweet rum! Drink up, me hearties! Yo ho!!

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 13 hours ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 32 ratings

Tasted next to it’s brother, this pails. Same flavor profile, with a lower level of smoothness. Good! Just not as good as the Marquesas!

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 2 months ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 41 ratings

Maple Syrup, Molasses, Brown Sugar, Caramel... from nose to finish.

Not the cleanest finish, but a fantastic sipper on the rocks.

This is THE rum to pull people in and get them to divorce the obligatory "coke" after the word rum by enjoying this on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Les conn from United States with 6 ratings

This rum is a smooth sipper that’s not overly sweet. I enjoy it over a couple cubes. I’ve been trying other rums but always find myself back with Papas Pilar 24 dark as I enjoy my evening.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ben9494 from United States with 5 ratings

On the sweeter side but not overly so. Maple flavor is forward but pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by JGold from United States with 11 ratings

Had some neat. No burn. Pretty sweet. Might have been my palate for the day but got some maple syrup notes from it. Wouldn’t refuse a nice glass of it. Would like to spend some time with it to give a real assessment. Good price point. I don’t believe the “24” has anything to do with age. May be nice to sip on in Key West while reading some works of Earnest Hemingway to get in the zone with it :)

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Mauricem from United States with 1 rating

A little spicey and flavored gut great body and good flavor. It is a little pricey for the value but still. Good rum. Really love the presentation. Love the compass top

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted 9 months ago by Lawson from United States with 66 ratings

Enjoyed with a couple of rocks. Very smooth and mild. Absolutely zero burn. Very little on the nose and lacking in complexity. However there are hints of chocolate nuts and brown sugar to enjoy. An above average sipper

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Zuke-a-riah from United States with 3 ratings

This was a birthday present. I have since bought another as I enjoy sipping with an ice cube and a lime squeeze. Tiny bit smokey but mostly molasses and hint of vanilla finish. As my go-to is now other stronger rums, I still turn to this for an easier sipper. The bottle is REALLY amazing though! Looks great on a shelf and an excellent gift for a rum lover - seriously impressive looking! That metal cap on a chain... I feel manly pouring that business into a rocks glass.