Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

United States | Aged

7.3/10 (19 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
9
5
2

Rate Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I'm not a huge fan of bourbon aged rums. I've tried a few a few good ones, where the aging is light, but generally I prefer other types of aging for rums, such as sherry or port barrel aging.

This smells and tastes of maple, bourbon, and vanilla. Not bad, but I prefer their sherry aged rums a little better. However, I do prefer this to their blonde rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

Aye, "overboard" be a pirate pun. This rum be far better than most rate it. She smells sweet of spices and caramel and a bit of oak. This gal be sweet, but not TOO sweet, just as fine lady should be. The caramel flavor does not carry over into the taste as much, but there definitely be dark chocolate. Not as much as the Vizcaya VXOP 21, but enough to say, "arrgh, there be chocolate here." There be a hint of vanilla too - nice to have on board. There be more burn goin' down the hatch than some of the more sweeter rums, but only on the first pass. This be a truly special, sweet-but-not-too-sweet rum! Drink up, me hearties! Yo ho!!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Lawson from United States with 62 ratings

Enjoyed with a couple of rocks. Very smooth and mild. Absolutely zero burn. Very little on the nose and lacking in complexity. However there are hints of chocolate nuts and brown sugar to enjoy. An above average sipper

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Zuke-a-riah from United States with 3 ratings

This was a birthday present. I have since bought another as I enjoy sipping with an ice cube and a lime squeeze. Tiny bit smokey but mostly molasses and hint of vanilla finish. As my go-to is now other stronger rums, I still turn to this for an easier sipper. The bottle is REALLY amazing though! Looks great on a shelf and an excellent gift for a rum lover - seriously impressive looking! That metal cap on a chain... I feel manly pouring that business into a rocks glass.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DAMITJOE from United States with 8 ratings

Had it on the rocks with juice of half a lime. I like the blonde better. This is OK, seems to have some added flavors, almost a mocha or carob taste.Not bad, not great.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 86 ratings

Taste like added sugar flavorings and coloring to me. It’s dark smooth and sweet so is Aunt Jemima syrup which this rum reminds me of. Tried it several times sure I’ll have it again, but always with full rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Sweet sipping rum that is easy to drink multiple when on the rocks. A lot of vanilla and caramel in this aged rum. I have found this to be a comparable sipper to the Flor De Cana 12 year at a slightly cheaper price point.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bob from United States with 8 ratings

Nice tasting rum with somewhat of a bite. You can tell it has a higher alcohol rating.The bottle design is a gem.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by carl from United States with 40 ratings

In my opinion, this compares well to the Zacapa XO at less than half the price. Both are on the sweeter side. This is nice with a little ice.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 25 ratings

This rum had a great flavor but was a little stronger then I would have liked

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 28 ratings

Drinking it neat is the best.Fantastic aroma and mouth the best part is the finish.