Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

United States | Aged

7.5/10
27 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
12
7
5

Rate Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small pe13li mince

Posted 2 months ago by Pe13Li from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

perfectly flavored rum, elegant taste in an elegant bottle with a screw cap

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Mörk bärnstens färgad precis som "originalet".
Doftar direkt bourbon vilket jag gillar. Känner lönnsirapen dolt bakom men med en stickigare doft. Härligt. Denna känner jag direkt är bättre än 24 solera dark rum.
Smaken även här bättre. Bourbon, vanilj, djupare fatkaraktär. Denna är mer rom än den första. Lätt en 7a. Eftersmaken är även här lite klen, man känner lite bourbon. Även här Mjuk eftersmak. Ja, bourbon, vanilj och lönnsirap, lätt drucken och inte alls komplex.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

I'm not a huge fan of bourbon aged rums. I've tried a few a few good ones, where the aging is light, but generally I prefer other types of aging for rums, such as sherry or port barrel aging.

This smells and tastes of maple, bourbon, and vanilla. Not bad, but I prefer their sherry aged rums a little better. However, I do prefer this to their blonde rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2761 ratings

Papa's Pilar Dark rum to me was quite a disappointment. There are so many better rums tastewise and so many better rums price-quality wise, that I would not waste my time with this one. It's too sweet, but still has an off putting burn at the end. Maybe mixing it with Coke, but not an enjoyable neat sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

I like this one sweet but has some
burn but it’s a good burn being a bourbon drinker just getting into rums this is a good one bourbon drinkers

Small jimmie profile pic

Posted over 3 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 34 ratings

This rum has managed to be sweet and add a bite all at the same time. Kinda confusing for me but it is drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

This is a full rating higher that the Papa's Dark, much more flavorful and enjoyable. Drinking it neat is the best. Fantastic aroma and mouth. the best part is the finish. Bravo and nice boom...

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar estimated at 24 GPL.
Sometimes when you have a winning recipe you should just leave it alone. In this case the Pilar Dark has been aged an additional 120 days in Bourbon barrels. All that did was tone down the Maple and Port flavours in the standard Pilar Dark, and increase the Vanilla flavour while adding in some bite and harshness from the Bourbon. Definitely can taste the vanilla more in this blend. You can spot the 120 day edition as it has the Hemingway signature on it. Picture of both attached. The original blend has the tag line of "Never a Spectator". One point deduction for messing around with my breakfast rum. I give this an 8.