Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.1/10 (1338 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
16
21
41
89
204
364
359
162
56
26

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1338 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nolan Rux from Denmark with 4 ratings

Nice sweet start with a subtle but noticable vanilla aftertaste. For the price they're asking, you can't go wrong! I'd take this over Morgan or Brugal any day!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

If this was a blackstrap rum, I would give it an 8, because it is very unique, has a beautiful color, and taste awesome. If you want a different type of dark and stormy, use Kraken and a not too gingery ginger beer. You don't want to overdo it with too much ginger and spices.

As a spiced rum, I give it a 6 for an overall score of 7. Spiced rum drinkers may add it to their collection for diversity for a small fee of $20, but at the end of the day it's a lightweight in comparison to other spiced rums. I don't actually taste 11 spices, but they well may be there. To some degree, it's like your amateur bartender's "Long Island Iced Tea"; you only taste 2 of the 11 ingredients he claims to have used and you're a little disappointed because you feel jipped (i.e. cheated, bamboozled, conned), but once it's said and done, that drink hit the spot.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Blake Jones from Australia with 2 ratings

Incredible any way, neat, rocks, mixed, cocktails. Brilliant flavour with heaps of spice.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Joe from United States with 5 ratings

It's strong! Dark rum at 47% and if u aren't careful the kraken will wreck your ship. It's a boat ride kind a drink. I love it and often it is my daily summer fun drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A sweet rum with a thin syrupy viscosity but there's some spice in it I just don't like. I don't understand all the high marks it gets here. Oh well...to each his own. There are simply much better spiced rums available. Bayou and Siesta Key are two that come to mind immediate. Both put Crapen...pardon me...Kraken to shame.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 195 ratings

Sugar: 43 gpl. Tastes like Dr Pepper on steroids. You could hide this in eggnog or orange juice, but I would not serve this as a sipping rum. There are some drink recipes out there that you could use this in and one of my friends loves this with Diet Coke, while another drinks it neat. I think there are better spiced rums out there but in 2018 this rum seems to be gaining popularity.
Updated April 2018.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Kasey from United States with 1 rating

Tasty, strong but smooth. I usually mix with Coke or ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

I was hesitant to try this rum when it first came out. I wasn't sure what to expect. Since I always have a large variety of rum on hand it wasn't a priority. I finally took the plunge & was pleasantly surprised. Not one to drink straight in my opinion but mixed with Cola it came out very well. Not one you want to over do it with but a mildly strong drink will hit the spot. Mixes incredibly well with Dr. Pepper so I recommend making that.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Once you get over the fact that it looks and sounds cool, you realise that it is a super bad rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JF boutin from Canada with 12 ratings

Tampered rum pushed to its limit. If you like to know what drinking a glass of vanilla Essence is like, try this rum. Even mixed with Coke, vanilla remains too strong. awful.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Anders Sjogren from United States with 7 ratings

Spice rum that are perfect to use to mix with ginger beer. Also used it in my cooking like bolongese.