Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.1/10(1409 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
23
44
97
214
379
379
169
60
27

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1409 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mo from United States with 15 ratings

It's not bad for what it is. I'm not really a soft drink-liquor-mixing kinda guy, but i use this to make my guests a rum&cola if they request one. I find these way better than e.g. Bacardi or Havana club. It's good but it's nothing to be blown away by.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This is easily my favorite rum. It's delightfully dark, has a little bit of a kick, and goes great with Diet Coke and a lime. Spicy, molasses-y, yet smooth. I always have to have a bottle around.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Fairly potent spiced rum, mixes well but can be sipped too. I don't understand why people would buy Captain Morgan or sailor Jerry when this is readily available.

IMO not quite on par with "The lash" (which is rather hard to find but worth it if you can) or Brinley's shipwreck, but I always keep a bottle in stock.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Genuinely love this stuff! Defo up there in my top 3 spiced rums for sure. I really like the bottle and the brand aswell as the contents. Its very rich & spicy, yet suprisingly smooth at the same time. Great on the rocks or with a mixer.

Small 20201031 160320

Posted 30 days ago by Captain Sam from Romania with 22 ratings

A good choice for rum and coke.
I did not care for it neat, it reveals its spices when mixed.
Nice dark color, lovely bottle.
I would rank it just below captain morgan black spiced and sailor Jerry

Ffffff

Posted 30 days ago by Osbornello from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Nice amount of spice and sweet enough - good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Ron105 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

a sweet rum I think it's worth a 6 certainly not bad but not to drink neat
maybe better to mix

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

If you’ve ever wondered how effective Coca-Cola really is as the perfect accompaniment to any rum, then I suggest you buy a bottle of Kraken and find out for yourself. Drank neat, Kraken is repugnant. All you can taste is burn in the mouth, and burn in your stomach, from all the searing spices that are used to create this. But add some Coca-Cola and turn this nightmare into a long drink and it’s a totally different ball game. With Coca-Cola, Kraken goes from being a savage Pit Bull to a gentle Boston Terrier. Mixed with coke, Kraken becomes much less intense, much sweeter, and even smells better, making this Spiced Rum quite pleasant. Having said all that, I feel adding Coca-Cola to this, in order of making it more agreeable to stomach, is defeating the object. It’s like ordering yourself a Vindaloo curry, then adding a massive tub of yogurt to it, because it’s too hot for you to handle in the first place! So my advice. If you love your Spiced Rums scorching, then for sure give this a try. But, if like me, you prefer your spiced/flavoured rums much more sugary and mellow, then I suggest giving Kraken a swerve, and treating yourself instead to a rum that is better suited to your sweet tooth. And with the likes of GOLDEN BUCK, RUM25, PROJECT#173 and BELGROVE to name but a few, we are literally spoilt for choice right now

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Yatoss from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Nothing fancy, just an easily drinkable spiced rum at a sensible price

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by JS92 from Netherlands with 2 ratings

A nice and simple rum with a smooth flavor. If you are looking for a fairly cheap spiced rum to drink on a good evening with friends or alone, than this is the one. I always like great designs, and in my opinion this bottle looks great with a cool label. It really gives a piratey feel

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by davin grau from United States with 1 rating

don’t enjoy this one straight, but mixed with ginger ale, coke or ginger beer, now there you go.