Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.0/10
1452 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
23
47
99
225
393
388
172
60
28

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1452 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Larsf from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Nice tones, cinnamon, caramel, and black cherry. Straight up possible but like it in a coke more.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This is easily my favorite rum. It's delightfully dark, has a little bit of a kick, and goes great with Diet Coke and a lime. Spicy, molasses-y, yet smooth. I always have to have a bottle around.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Fairly potent spiced rum, mixes well but can be sipped too. I don't understand why people would buy Captain Morgan or sailor Jerry when this is readily available.

IMO not quite on par with "The lash" (which is rather hard to find but worth it if you can) or Brinley's shipwreck, but I always keep a bottle in stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Genuinely love this stuff! Defo up there in my top 3 spiced rums for sure. I really like the bottle and the brand aswell as the contents. Its very rich & spicy, yet suprisingly smooth at the same time. Great on the rocks or with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by aldimop from Greece with 9 ratings

Very nice bottle, but I had higher expectations on the taste. I wouldn't say it is very sweet.You can easily understand the coffee in there, as well as some caramel notes. I wouldn't buy another bottle but if I find it in a bar's list, it could be a choice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jdempsey from South Africa with 10 ratings

Nice mix rum, great with Coke. The taste profile reminds be of the Captain Morgan spiced black rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Firlan from Australia with 10 ratings

good spiced rum, many a good time had unleashing the kraken

Small 20201031 160320

Posted 3 months ago by Captain Sam from Romania with 25 ratings

A good choice for rum and coke.
I did not care for it neat, it reveals its spices when mixed.
Nice dark color, lovely bottle.
I would rank it just below captain morgan black spiced and sailor Jerry

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Osbornello from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Nice amount of spice and sweet enough - good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ron105 from Netherlands with 16 ratings

a sweet rum I think it's worth a 6 certainly not bad but not to drink neat
maybe better to mix

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

If you’ve ever wondered how effective Coca-Cola really is as the perfect accompaniment to any rum, then I suggest you buy a bottle of Kraken and find out for yourself. Drank neat, Kraken is repugnant. All you can taste is burn in the mouth, and burn in your stomach, from all the searing spices that are used to create this. But add some Coca-Cola and turn this nightmare into a long drink and it’s a totally different ball game. With Coca-Cola, Kraken goes from being a savage Pit Bull to a gentle Boston Terrier. Mixed with coke, Kraken becomes much less intense, much sweeter, and even smells better, making this Spiced Rum quite pleasant. Having said all that, I feel adding Coca-Cola to this, in order of making it more agreeable to stomach, is defeating the object. It’s like ordering yourself a Vindaloo curry, then adding a massive tub of yogurt to it, because it’s too hot for you to handle in the first place! So my advice. If you love your Spiced Rums scorching, then for sure give this a try. But, if like me, you prefer your spiced/flavoured rums much more sugary and mellow, then I suggest giving Kraken a swerve, and treating yourself instead to a rum that is better suited to your sweet tooth. And with the likes of GOLDEN BUCK, RUM25, PROJECT#173 and BELGROVE to name but a few, we are literally spoilt for choice right now