Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1226 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

Kraken is in my point of view only suitable as a mixer and is in the Captain Morgan ballpark.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kim Jensen from Denmark with 16 ratings

I actually got this rum as a present and did not expect much from it. It turned out to be OK to drink straight. Not great but ok.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Jemnejší, menej výrazný. Ale zároveň chutnejší ako kapitán.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Un Rhum plus industriel certainement qui conviendra à merveille à la préparation de coktails, il est également plaisant à boire pur avec ses notes de caramel.

Posted over 4 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

This is my go to rum when having lots of company over with mixed drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike s from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

First impressions of this is that it has a lot of caramel coloring added. When poured the rum stays almost pure black with no reddy tones. On the nose it's sweet, vanilla and almond. Mixed with cola it maintains that sweetness but there's a roughness from what I imagine a young gold rum base so ming through prominently. Nice enough but nothing incredible or new. Probably on a par with Morgans spiced gold if I'm honest.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Well rounded spices with just the right kick. Ok for what it is.

edited to add sugar test results- 26g

Posted over 4 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

I bought the BIG bottle of this and it took a while to get through. It is not bad with Coke, but I like my rum on the rocks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Larsf from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Nice tones, cinnamon, caramel, and black cherry. Straight up possible but like it in a coke more.

Posted over 4 years ago by Haden from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Big up my shipmates at work for this one. Rocks. Lime. Glug. Best spiced rum for me so far.

Posted over 4 years ago by CW Clark from Canada with 2 ratings

This rum is so smooth I normally just drink it on the rocks. Although this I would say is the best mixing rum I have tried thus far.

Posted over 4 years ago by Victor from United States with 4 ratings

Very strong syrupy taste, overpowers the spices heavily. Pretty much only good mixed with ginger beer. If you aren't interested in drinking a Dark and Stormy I would skip over this.

Posted over 4 years ago by steve rector from United States with 11 ratings

Dark and Stormy is the only way I like this one....

Posted over 4 years ago by Bearded Dude from Canada with 2 ratings

Nice mellow flavour for a spice rum. Not overpowering despite 47%. I find it gets kind of lost in cola whereas Sailor Jerry sticks out more to me so I prefer SJ in my mixes. All in all a good rum but not really sipper.

Posted over 4 years ago by RoyBM from United States with 5 ratings

Dark colored, bold taste with a kick.
This is my favorite rum so far. Mixes well with coke.
You can actually taste and smell vanilla, cinnamon, hint of chocolate, and a few other spices I can't seem to pinpoint.
Good straight sipper, shots, or mixer!

Posted over 4 years ago by Morskie Eats DC from United States with 5 ratings

So this stuff is not the best sipper in the world. It's spice profile is pretty rich and it puts a little too much zing on your palate.

What it is great for is mixing. Mix it with Cola, pineapple juice, ginger beer, chocolate milk.........cake batter. Really it's a great bottle to keep in your cabinet for those occasions that would be a waste of high end stuff.

Posted over 4 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Temná barva, vyvážené aroma s nádechem lékořice .

Posted over 4 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

Nice bottle, Kraken. Decent dark rum, but there are better. I recommend this to friends just to say they have tried it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

A rum very spiced, good for drink with chocolate or Candy Ginger

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

The Kraken has a really nice mild scent, although its dark brown/red hue isn't overly inviting. This rum has a well balanced spiced flavour.. maybe even some licorice notes in there... Mixes great with cola and also makes a fine Dark and Stormy. Very smooth - You wouldn't know (from the taste) that it's 47% alcohol!

Posted over 4 years ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

One of the best Black Rums out there (in this price range). Also looks great, I find that important for some reason

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This is one of my favorites. Keeps me warm on snowy nights and makes for great company during the holidays.

https://www.facebook.com/GloversHarbourNl

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie jones from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Sold in most bars in my area it's a good accessible rum that isn't over price nice on its own or mixed with Coke must try for everyone

Posted over 4 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

This one is really great for parties, as it is a good value and festive flavor. The spice is apparent, yet not so loud as Sailor Jerry, which makes this one fun for shots or mixing in with the jungle juice (if you really hate your body). Kraken was the first rum I ever tried, and it always brings me memories of crazy gatherings with friends. The rum itself isn't too impressive: fairly average, which is why I'm rating this as a 6, but like I said, it's my top pick for parties.

Posted over 4 years ago by Danny from Belgium with 18 ratings

Bcp de saveur épicée. Une belle tinte foncée. Multiples usage. Bon r/q/p.