Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1226 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This one is not much better than Captain Morgan's black rum. Heavy aftertaste. The best thing about this rum is the bottle!

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott from United States with 38 ratings

Very nice..beautiful color.. sweet and very smooth

Posted over 4 years ago by marion from Belgium with 22 ratings

I like it with cola.
Different taste in its price class.
But a bit too creamy for me to drink on the rocks.But it taste different then others so in that way you should try if you like cola with rhum.

Posted over 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

I really want to like this one with its ingenious name and design. I enjoy dark rums also but, this one for me fell short. It's licorice flavor is overpowering on my taste buds. I'll always keep a small bottle of Kraken for guests but, it will not touch my glass and for that I give it a 4.

I appreciate the effort by the company but, this just isn't my blend.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kyyyyyy from United States with 14 ratings

This goes great in Egg Nog, probably good straight up as well.

Posted over 4 years ago by michael greenman from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

a great spiced rum, nice on its own, a great mixer with coke and a squeeze of fresh lime.. love the packaging

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

not too bad, in the same ballpark as Captain Morgan and other mid shelf spiced rums. It has a bit more vanilla taste than captain. I get the name, because this doesn't taste too strong, just spicy but if you keep drinking it really creeps up on you while you're raiding English slave ships in your stolen boat that's sailing in Kraken infested waters.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

The Kraken in new on the scene but it jumped right in there with quality and flavour. They have a pretty strong ad campaign and an attractive bottle to get your attention. Generally I don't see TV ads for anything accept Kraken and Sailor Jerry so if one were to start drinking rum, if they didn't start with The Captain this is probably where they would start. Nice flavour, not to sweet, not too syrupy and holds up well to a glass of ice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Incredible dark black colour (made by artificial additives so maybe not that incredible) and cool branding and bottle.

I have sipped this and there is an interesting caramel taste (again almost certainly added artificially) but definitely best with ginger beer. OK with coke too.

I'd always want this on my shelf as a variation.

Posted over 4 years ago by Josh from United States with 9 ratings

Full of flavor, lots of spices, strong. Kraken packs a good punch but keeps you coming for more. Enjoy on the rocks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 54 ratings

I love drinking this with Coca-cola. Great color and flavor.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Disappointed with the overal flavor. More of a marketing success than a rum worth buying, unless you reach for the Captain and it's all gone.

Posted over 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Not someone who drinks much spiced rum, so for what it is worth, good rum when the budget is a little tight. Offered this rum over new years and it got the party started.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jay from United States with 8 ratings

Good stuff rum with cola, wouldn't take it straight.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

bottle and label designs are exceptional.

it seems most of development funds were spend on image building than the liquid itself....

if in a pinch of having no other choice, you must but if you have access to other spiced rums, go for your usual selection.

good for an experience... as in singular, an experience... especially if you are the type to prefer to drink your liquid straight at room temperature as myself.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonathan from France with 2 ratings

Good spice rum with a nice brown color and a strong coffee flavour.

Posted over 4 years ago by RJ from United States with 1 rating

I normally go for Kraken and soda on the rocks. This is my standard drink. It has plenty of flavor and brings enough sweetness not to need anything else.

Posted over 4 years ago by thejesse from United States with 4 ratings

A great beginner's rum - to be used in mixed drinks only of course. It is perfect with Coca Cola - the spicing has a cola like flavor to it and it just blends marvelously. The only thing I'll put in my Coke these days besides ice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

The Kraken rum is strong, rich, with nice very dark color and smooth . Very nice Limited Edition bottle .

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

This is not for everyone. I know, as the Kraken has beaten me a few times, and I'm no faint-hearted slouch! Spicy and flavorful, this stuff boasts a vanilla taste that heats up and goes nice in a Coke & lime. Even fun for a shot every now and then, but beware too many of these!

Posted over 4 years ago by ArteSuave from Netherlands with 20 ratings

Decent enough for a mixing rum, same taste, though a little spicier then Capt Morgan.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mikel Chinnery from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Smooth, very vanilla heavy dark rum. Particularly smooth and drinkable - not particularly characteristic with mixer, typically melds identically to the flavour of coca cola. Very very drinkable.

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

typically i don't drink spiced rums unless they are great, this one tries to be great.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

It reminds me of infused lakrits in vodka; the rum is almost salty. I kind of like it though.

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

Duger om man ska shota...
För dyr med tanke på smak o innehåll.
Ingen höjdare.
⭐️⭐️