Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1224 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

Kraken is in my point of view only suitable as a mixer and is in the Captain Morgan ballpark.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 12 ratings

I love this rum in a Cuba Libre. Bartender in Mexico perfected it even more. After pouring your rum over ice fill the remainder of the glass with half coke and the other half soda water. Welcome to the islands, Boys!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Udemærket rom til prisen. Go hverdags og begynder rom der ikke er for sød

Posted almost 4 years ago by Max from France with 3 ratings

Bon petit rhum de début de soirée et d'avant repas, parfait pour débuter dans les dégustations de rhum et commencer sa rhumerie, à toujours avoir pour initier et régaler ses convives.
Épicé et sucré comme il faut. Et le design m'a aussi tout de suite plu.
Bref je le recommande

Posted almost 4 years ago by Fred from Canada with 11 ratings

C'est fort! Le rhum agricole à 47 % et si tu n'est pas prudent le kraken détruira votre bateau. C'est une sorte de tour en bateau une boisson. Je l'aime et souvent c'est mon amusement quotidien d'été drink.it

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bernard from United States with 5 ratings

High alcohol content makes this a little too harsh to drink neat for my tastes. Makes a tasty Hurricane or Zombie.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Guter Rum den ich ab und zu auch gerne Pur oder mit einem kleinen Eiswürfel trinke. Am besten schmekt er mir aber mit Cola, der Drink bekommt so eine ganz spezielle Vanillenote, ähnlich wie beim Havana Club Especial.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum Hunter from Sweden with 23 ratings

What can I say. Lots of flowers sweet vanilla and chocolate some caramel spicy finish. It's to intense really not a sipper for me . More of an rum and coke cuba libre style

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brady from United States with 2 ratings

You can find Kraken just about any where I go, and for the price ($15-18 for a 750ml) you can't go wrong. It has a heavier taste than is complimented by a strong, delightful finish. Good mixer and not too shabby on the good ol' rocks. Good to have around in the liquor shelf. 7/10

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Tasty, spiced but not unique, not bad for liw price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pierrot from Canada with 23 ratings

Pour accompagner vos soirées entre amis. Épicé et caramélisé, assez doux, je n'hésiterai pas à lever mon vers

Posted almost 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

They advertise a lot of hype around their product and it is definitely something out of the depths. Picked up a few sample bottles, as spiced rums are typically not my choice but I wanted to give it a try. Chilled one and attempted it neat. Sorry, this ain't a sipper! Too dark and too much burn and astringency. The flavor of cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and anise were on point. Just the nose on this had the alcohol wafting from it. The remainder was added to cola and was an average drink. A bit spicier than Sailor Jerry. The second sample was used to make a Dark & Stormy. I am a wicked fan of ginger and have fallen in love with the sharp flavor a and the heat of ginger beer. This being the quintessential drink, I had to try. It was brilliant! The spice of the rum and that of the ginger beer were made for each other. Reminds me of a spicy mojito, catches in the back of your throat and tingles. Is this your everyday rum? Not mine, but I can see it finding a place on the shelf for making a rare drink here or there. And I do love that limited ceramic bottle....

Posted almost 4 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

I must admit, i'm a sucket for nice bottles, nice design and a good story. The website, the story, everything about the kraken is very cool. The whole marketing is well done. 9/10

The taste, well it's not aged, it's commercial and it's spiced, so it tastes exactly as you would think it would taste. Not a top rum, but i wasn't expecting that either. 6/10. Still a good 7/10 overall as i value taste more then looks

Posted almost 4 years ago by Cj from United States with 5 ratings

Great in mixed drinks and also tasty on the rocks, yum!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Koestel from France with 14 ratings

Un bon rhum, bouteille sympa, un bon goût de vanille et café.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

I bought the 750 of kraken because they had a special ceramic bottle. I needed a new rum to use as a mixer so figured, why not. I am Sadly disappointed with the flavor. It might just be that I am not fond of Spiced rums anymore but this just seemed to have a bitterness no matter what I mixed with. I think I will search out a different rum for future mixing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Cool bottle, cooler rum. Great with ginger or cola. Also good straight up. One of the better inexpensive darks.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Thomas from Australia with 3 ratings

Very good all-round and not too pricey. Great with a coke.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Sam from United States with 7 ratings

Very harsh rum. Over powering flavour. Not a favorite go to rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joeri Vermeulen from Belgium with 7 ratings

I find the Kraken Black Spiced an easy to drink rum.

Quite sweet, my kind of drink.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

Don't know how to feel about this rum. Drinking it straight up is both fantastic and way too much. It's sooo much vanilla and sweetness in there. The first few sips were amazing but after that the artifical vanilla flavour bacame too much. Great rum to mix with coke and you don't need to mix a lot of kraken in there either.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Mixed this with my go to lime and rocks. Very very good for a hot summer day. Delicious but steer very carefully, tis very potent.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale Wheelert from United States with 13 ratings

I prefer this to most other spiced rums!
I drink this when nothing else suits my mood!

Posted about 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

Good mixer if looking for an alternative to Myers. Has a bit more flavor as well

Posted about 4 years ago by Tom Benjamin from United States with 1 rating

Dark color with good aroma. Flavor gets lost to me with coke, but adds a sweetness.