Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1259 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

811532a2fc0e160e69174261971a2265.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

Kraken is in my point of view only suitable as a mixer and is in the Captain Morgan ballpark.

1f4570219d6d2d5eabff5d38f40d627b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

I tried this because I found it in a small bottle. I found it didn't have much of an aroma, maybe slightly sweet syrup. I was expecting a captain morgan nasty flavor, but I was pleasantly surprised. The spices are subtle and it actually sips decently. I got some nutmeg, vanilla, maybe some pepper? Makes an awesome rum and coke, and in a pinch isn't terrible neat or on the rocks.

B529f9d5fc9e9172107d76a0a88f5ae5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Gregor from Slovenia with 4 ratings

Not to sweet, not to dry, nice rum spiced for every day.

1cc010dfef23126ff5d5093783913f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Good 1:1 with ginger and smooth enough to drink straight but not enough depth of flavour and very sweet. Overall a decent rum for the price tag.

B17e3cfb8b5c3fef0157b00ba7131c52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 24 days ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

When you want the Best in Fake, Go with Kraken, atleast the additives are natural so they say. You could make you're own brew with a standard aged rum and add spices yourself and would probably be awesome but not many would so hence this market. Enjoy if it's your thing. I didn't mind this one but prefer my rum unadulterated and wouldn't buy again.

7ce7377ee51fc6e008e5df6e5e943335.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Racketeer from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

One of the first dark rums I tried. Whilst nice enough with coke I wouldn't suggest using this as a sipping rum. I always keep a bottle on the shelf, but have found myself drinking it less often in favour of nicer alternatives.

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Very big flavor. You can sip this, but I wouldn't. Mixes well. Strong flavor, doesn't get lost in mixes. Neat bottle. It's got bite, an overproof rum, easy to get carried away with. Eventually the novelty wears off though, and the neat bottle ends up sitting on the shelf while you drink better rums.

F5dd4b4bd0b69800f10df48db7cffdd2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay G from Canada with 5 ratings

As the title says: I find it very very close to Captain Morgan Black in that it is super sweet and comes with a strong vanilla flavor but for some odd reason this one gives me stomach ache if I drink too much. Something no other rum as done to me.

Would still highly recommend for rum & cokes.

6ff63e283564e950b034f51793dc3b66.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blaine from United States with 10 ratings

I was at a friend's house who was serving kraken and coke. The coke couldn't mask the flavor. Tried some straight up and some over ice. Very empty and cheap taste. Tastes syrupy and leaves a strange taste in your mouth.

44878d1e7b754ff0b1752de676a8f0ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

It´s disgusting bitter, poor taste. Not worth to buy it. Better to spend the money for some Appleton Dark Rum
The Bottle is nice, that all!

1d3b81ce4184231d1d478e7ebbf76ede.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

No me gustan los rones spicy. Este en particular es muy fuerte y joven. Seco.