Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.1/10 (1353 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
16
22
41
91
204
369
366
162
56
26

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1353 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Ça goûte beaucoup la vanille, très épicé. C est un rhum fort en alcool 50%. Je le bois avec du coke. Pas mauvais mais on se tanne du goût a la longue.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

I tried this because I found it in a small bottle. I found it didn't have much of an aroma, maybe slightly sweet syrup. I was expecting a captain morgan nasty flavor, but I was pleasantly surprised. The spices are subtle and it actually sips decently. I got some nutmeg, vanilla, maybe some pepper? Makes an awesome rum and coke, and in a pinch isn't terrible neat or on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 308 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: neupřesněný Karibik
Aroma: Příjemně uhlazená, sametová vůně s broušenou kůží, melasou, lesním medem, marcipánem a kávou. (85 b)
Chuť: Chuť zprvu lehce nasládlá, kávová, pendreková, v dozvuku spíš do sucha. Zakončení je hodně melasové. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Solidní kořeněný rum, o vzorek od Nethara jsem musel bojovat, protože jsem dal ochutnat přítelkyni a tu velmi zaujal.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Gregor from Slovenia with 4 ratings

Not to sweet, not to dry, nice rum spiced for every day.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Good 1:1 with ginger and smooth enough to drink straight but not enough depth of flavour and very sweet. Overall a decent rum for the price tag.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

When you want the Best in Fake, Go with Kraken, atleast the additives are natural so they say. You could make you're own brew with a standard aged rum and add spices yourself and would probably be awesome but not many would so hence this market. Enjoy if it's your thing. I didn't mind this one but prefer my rum unadulterated and wouldn't buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

Not a fan of this. If you like off-brand diet soda mixed with rubbing alcohol, you might enjoy this. Anyone rating this over a 4 has not an earthly clue what decent rum should taste like. You might be able to turn your regular coke into an alcoholic Diet Coke substitute with this but that’s about the only use of it I can think of. Also per ALKO notes this is absolutely loaded with flavor additives in addition to ungodly amounts of sugar.

*Update June 2020* This rum tasted so horrible that I am traumatized. Almost a year later and I still have most of a bottle that I am unable to even think about opening because I can't stand even the smell of it.

*Update August 2020* After realizing that I could not in good conscience pass this bottle off on a colleague, I poured down the drain. This is to date the only rum I have ever rated a 1 and literally poured down the drain.

Nose: 1
Palate: 1
Aftertaste: 1
Smoothness: 1
Versatility: 1
Price: 6

Total: 1.8

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Racketeer from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

One of the first dark rums I tried. Whilst nice enough with coke I wouldn't suggest using this as a sipping rum. I always keep a bottle on the shelf, but have found myself drinking it less often in favour of nicer alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Very big flavor. You can sip this, but I wouldn't. Mixes well. Strong flavor, doesn't get lost in mixes. Neat bottle. It's got bite, an overproof rum, easy to get carried away with. Eventually the novelty wears off though, and the neat bottle ends up sitting on the shelf while you drink better rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jay G from Canada with 5 ratings

As the title says: I find it very very close to Captain Morgan Black in that it is super sweet and comes with a strong vanilla flavor but for some odd reason this one gives me stomach ache if I drink too much. Something no other rum as done to me.

Would still highly recommend for rum & cokes.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Blaine from United States with 10 ratings

I was at a friend's house who was serving kraken and coke. The coke couldn't mask the flavor. Tried some straight up and some over ice. Very empty and cheap taste. Tastes syrupy and leaves a strange taste in your mouth.