Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1224 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

Kraken is in my point of view only suitable as a mixer and is in the Captain Morgan ballpark.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Very big flavor. You can sip this, but I wouldn't. Mixes well. Strong flavor, doesn't get lost in mixes. Neat bottle. It's got bite, an overproof rum, easy to get carried away with. Eventually the novelty wears off though, and the neat bottle ends up sitting on the shelf while you drink better rums.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay G from Canada with 5 ratings

As the title says: I find it very very close to Captain Morgan Black in that it is super sweet and comes with a strong vanilla flavor but for some odd reason this one gives me stomach ache if I drink too much. Something no other rum as done to me.

Would still highly recommend for rum & cokes.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blaine from United States with 10 ratings

I was at a friend's house who was serving kraken and coke. The coke couldn't mask the flavor. Tried some straight up and some over ice. Very empty and cheap taste. Tastes syrupy and leaves a strange taste in your mouth.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

It´s disgusting bitter, poor taste. Not worth to buy it. Better to spend the money for some Appleton Dark Rum
The Bottle is nice, that all!

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

No me gustan los rones spicy. Este en particular es muy fuerte y joven. Seco.

Posted about 5 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

For me this was my introduction to spiced rum and I loved it. First I mixed it with coke (wich can be dangerous..), now I have another bottle and I drink it straight. I love it, I usually don't like my rums too sweet and I can't wait to try the more sophisticated spiced rums mentioned in this comment section, but because of the high alcohol percentage this rum has something to it that I just can't resist (I think it's the licorice, I'm Dutch after all..). Aside from the name and bottle of course.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lyle from United States with 8 ratings

Upon first taste it was ok, but after a few more sips it got worse. It has a very overpowering nasty taste. Maybe I got a bad bottle or something but it wasn't my cup of tea. But that's just my opinion.

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

i just cannot give the kraken less than 7 based on I feel good every time i pour it. and i prefer to just sipp it

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

This has a rich flavor with what I think is a very subtle hint of anise. It's among the best spiced rums I've tasted, and most don't really appeal to me. It's now my favorite to mix with root beer as it adds a complimentary depth of flavor to one of my favorite soft drinks that has limited mixing potential.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: neupřesněný Karibik
Aroma: Příjemně uhlazená, sametová vůně s broušenou kůží, melasou, lesním medem, marcipánem a kávou. (85 b)
Chuť: Chuť zprvu lehce nasládlá, kávová, pendreková, v dozvuku spíš do sucha. Zakončení je hodně melasové. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Solidní kořeněný rum, o vzorek od Nethara jsem musel bojovat, protože jsem dal ochutnat přítelkyni a tu velmi zaujal.

Posted over 5 years ago by Elvisfink from United States with 1 rating

A great spice rum to use in mixed drinks. Very versatile.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Good readily available rum. Best with coke. Easy drinker

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

My first sip lead to 3 more drinks straight up! Then the higher proof hit me. This beast shows it's tentacles after you drink, not before. My top recommended rum at work.

Posted about 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This is easily my favorite rum. It's delightfully dark, has a little bit of a kick, and goes great with Diet Coke and a lime. Spicy, molasses-y, yet smooth. I always have to have a bottle around.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Fairly potent spiced rum, mixes well but can be sipped too. I don't understand why people would buy Captain Morgan or sailor Jerry when this is readily available.

IMO not quite on par with "The lash" (which is rather hard to find but worth it if you can) or Brinley's shipwreck, but I always keep a bottle in stock.

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Genuinely love this stuff! Defo up there in my top 3 spiced rums for sure. I really like the bottle and the brand aswell as the contents. Its very rich & spicy, yet suprisingly smooth at the same time. Great on the rocks or with a mixer.

Posted 26 days ago by Rumopijca from Poland with 10 ratings

Jest dobry, poprawny. Niestety za mało nim wiadomo, za dużo znaków zapytania. Jest dosladzany i kolorowany karmelem. Jest dobry na pierwszy rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by ProSafe from Germany with 13 ratings

Pur nicht genießbar, viel zu scharf und nicht harmonisch. Gemischt in cocktails oder mit Cola auf Eis sehr zu empfehlen, da hierbei die Gewürze ihren vollen Geschmack zeigen.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andrew Fleming from United States with 2 ratings

Really great with coke! When drinking, I imagine I just swabbed the deck of a pirate ship named something like "Ariel's Fins" while the bow dips with the waves.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bryan from United States with 4 ratings

Now I’m new to rum drinking, so please take my review with a grain of salt if your avid rum drinker. I think this rum is pretty good. Does not taste like rubbing alcohol and makes great dark and stormys. And the price is right!

Posted over 2 years ago by Brodie from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Was my first ‘proper’ bottle of rum recommended by a friend who has the kraken tattoos on him 😂 very smooth and easy to drink am now on a rum quest to try as many different rums as I can!

Posted over 2 years ago by Cejer from United States with 9 ratings

This was only my second rum to taste, and it hurt. It's over proofed, so it hit hard and hot. One of the predominant flavors is black licorice, I hate black licorice. It's thick, reminded me of Vick's 44 cough syrup. If you like black licorice or anise, give it a try, if not stay away. Too strong to drink neat and carries too much licorice to use for mixing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Hal Smart from United States with 1 rating

This rum was actually what got me hooked on rum. Good flavor, doesn't break the bank and mixes well with cola or root beer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Awinash from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Its a really Sweet rum. If you like sweets than you Will love the Taste of the kraken.