Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced | 47.0% ABV

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.0/10
1484 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
25
47
101
233
395
401
176
61
28

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1484 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Larsf from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Nice tones, cinnamon, caramel, and black cherry. Straight up possible but like it in a coke more.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is totally one of the most unique out there for sure. Smelling it from the bottle it smells like cotton candy, so much sweetness smell it's incredible. Pouring it in the glass it is a dark black amber color and it smells and I'm not exaggerating like latex paint and then a woof of alcohol. But its mostly cocoa and molasses creating this smell. Drinking it straight is very very harsh. Harsh burn up front and I mean HARSH. I was trying to zone in on flavors but I was more worried about the fire I just in took. Drinking it with Diet coke gives you a strange rum and coke. Initially it tastes like a regular coke then it kicks in full gear a bitter chocolate and then a large amount of sweetness (from molasses) and then evens out with a finish of caramel. I'm not a very big chocolate rum person so I cant consider this one all that good and at its price point is only so-so as a mixer. I don't get too much spice out of it either. This rum reminds me of something that first starts you on rum tasting. Its one of those that when you first try are thinking its SO much better than bacardi (it is) and you get all hyped about it and think you are a rum snob. After swimming in the rum pool for a while you realize this is only so so compared to others. But I strongly recommend if you like bitter-sweet rums.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

If you are a spiced rum lovers, this one can be a good choice, considering the advantageous value for money. Nice bottle!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by foufvious from United States with 6 ratings

i'll buy it cheap and keep one bottle on hand. If i run out of my regular rum i'll use this as a backup.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by joel from Australia with 2 ratings

Slowly becoming a mainstream rum in Australian bars.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

In all honesty, prefer the Captain morgan spiced dark. The Kraken tastes great, but causes horrible digestive pain the next day.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Flavorful but not overpowering. Probably better served as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Mon rhum épicé préféré. Un feu en plein air, de la bonne compagnie, quelques cubes de glace, une bouteille de Kraken. Sucrée ,mélasse, vanille et canelle. Wow. J'en ai toujours une bouteille en reserve.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by IEll from United States with 2 ratings

Ok with heavy mixers. Strong proof , spicy . Can't drink more than 1.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Weltaz from Switzerland with 1 rating

The pleasure of tasting a legend !
Whenever I go out and about, at the beach or while on the slopes of a mountain, in the gorge of a river on foot, bike or boat. It's great to find this legendary rum, taste caramelized presented in its beautiful bottle. The taste for adventure à 40°

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jd from United States with 8 ratings

Okay mixing with soda, but straight up is a bit harsh. Nice for shots.