Posting your rating...
Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.0/10
1452 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
23
47
99
225
393
388
172
60
28

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1452 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Good 1:1 with ginger and smooth enough to drink straight but not enough depth of flavour and very sweet. Overall a decent rum for the price tag.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

ενα ρούμι που δεν ειναι για όλες τις ώρες.πολλά έντονα αρώματα που σε μπερδεύουν.η θα το λατρέψεις η θα το μισησεις!θυμίζει λικέρ βανίλια μαζί με μαύρη σοκολάτα

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Very molassesy. I really like molasses, and I recognize the huge dose in the flavor Kraken.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

a dispetto del nome e del colore molto scuro l'ho apprezzato per l'intenso gusto di caramello/mou associato ad una sensazione amarognola simile agli agrumi. Maschera molto bene la sua gradazione

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Not bad as a mixer. Makes a good dark and stormy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very enjoyable rum when mixed with coke. The vanilla of the coke and the chocolate flavour of the rum work well for me.
Don't fancy it straight up/on the rocks as the flavours are too strong for my liking.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Shinault from United States with 4 ratings

Kraken has become my go-to rum for mixing with Coke. It is a good black rum that maintains a nice sweetness despite its 94 proof. It is smooth with a well-balanced blend of spices. It could be used as a sipping rum but its strong molasses flavor with likely prove to be too much after a few glasses.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

but this is beter then Bacardi oakheart. It has a spicy taste with vanilla notes but is isnt trying to be a aged rum wich is good imo

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mikel from United States with 5 ratings

As far as dark rums go, Kraken is nice for a mixer, especially in a dark n stormy. Tastes strongly of molasses, but I don't get much in the way of spices.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is totally one of the most unique out there for sure. Smelling it from the bottle it smells like cotton candy, so much sweetness smell it's incredible. Pouring it in the glass it is a dark black amber color and it smells and I'm not exaggerating like latex paint and then a woof of alcohol. But its mostly cocoa and molasses creating this smell. Drinking it straight is very very harsh. Harsh burn up front and I mean HARSH. I was trying to zone in on flavors but I was more worried about the fire I just in took. Drinking it with Diet coke gives you a strange rum and coke. Initially it tastes like a regular coke then it kicks in full gear a bitter chocolate and then a large amount of sweetness (from molasses) and then evens out with a finish of caramel. I'm not a very big chocolate rum person so I cant consider this one all that good and at its price point is only so-so as a mixer. I don't get too much spice out of it either. This rum reminds me of something that first starts you on rum tasting. Its one of those that when you first try are thinking its SO much better than bacardi (it is) and you get all hyped about it and think you are a rum snob. After swimming in the rum pool for a while you realize this is only so so compared to others. But I strongly recommend if you like bitter-sweet rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

If you are a spiced rum lovers, this one can be a good choice, considering the advantageous value for money. Nice bottle!