Posting your rating...
Koloa Spice rum

Koloa Spice

United States | Spiced

Koloa Spice rum, a version of their White Rum infused with a spice blend. Bottled at 80 proof with added caramel color.

via American Rum Report

5.9/10 (19 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
7
3
2
1

Rate Koloa Spice

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Koloa Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

I wanted to like this more than I did. I found the sweetness overpowering the actual spice component which was far too subtle for my taste. In several cocktail recipes, I found myself having to add additional falernum, allspice dram or bitters, depending on the drink.

58fb641998eb94c7ed6cb61fe1a49365.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 26 ratings

Sickeningly sweet and very alcoholic. One dimensional artificial vanilla flavor with backdrop of muddled spices. Has a medicinal finish. The longer I wait and reflect, the worse this rum gets. I recall drinking it on a beach late one night and it being very good. I must have had too much. Would not recommend as a sipper. It could be used for mixed drinks, but it is rather pricey. There are much better spiced rums for the price. In fact, I may buy the Kirkland Spiced just to do a side-by-side comparison.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 21 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Not good. Starts ok but the finish is very harsh. There are literally a dozen better spiced rums out there. Many cost less.

E7b6354b99c2364eeaafb91cd26b1cab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Trogdog from United States with 13 ratings

Still new at this, but one of the better that I've tasted. Warm, smooth, vanilla and incmon.

F45c3c7b94b185ff9bf6e2a4bad07ec6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 13 ratings

This is ok. Not really outstanding or bad in any particular area

6ea40e461616e02c51aba818afba86b0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Ralfeez from United States with 1 rating

I do not always like spiced rum, but this is like dessert for me. I really love the scent and the smooth flavor. It makes excellent mixed drinks.

F466d42003fbdd4928f9d4e3d5577ecd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Nothing special but good spice rum. Better for mixing than for sipping.

B7a19613367049062b0a957a46af2af3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by lonefalcon from United States with 18 ratings

This is a very sweet rum, but also with a kick of added spiciness. A little overly sweet in the end, but can be sipped in a bind. Slightly higher abv than other rums as well, but I am not sure this compensates for the sticky sweetness.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Koloa Kaua'i Spice Rum bottle and label design looks very nice and artsy. Very light amber color. There is plenty of unmatured alcohol to the nose and palate with an overload of sweetness and vanilla. Strong burn at the end, it's simply too hot at 88 Proof. Mix it with your favorite soda and down it goes. Not a neat sipper.

520f683d062fc32554b860a5fa3ea52c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Nose is like a and w cream soda. Taste is a little sweet like vanilla icing with hint of spice. I GEt clove and similar spices. I would give this 6.5. Simple flavor but decent for a mixer.