Posting your rating...
Koloa Gold rum

Koloa Gold rum, a version of their White Rum with added caramel color and flavors. Bottled unaged at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate Koloa Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


12 Koloa Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The aroma in the bottle is subtle, almost plain but is indicative of the mild flavor and understated sweetness found within. It is a bright amber color and has slight hints of vanilla and sugar...almost a buttery sugar toast flavor. Not overly sweet. Just enough to make it interesting. I find it a fairly unique rum worth trying. A little expensive for a gold rum but worth trying.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I've been really impressed by Koloa rums. They make my favorite coffee rum, my favorite coconut rum, and my favorite dark rum. But their gold rum is about average to me.

It's really smooth for a 40%abv rum. That's the good part. Tastes and smells of honey, caramelized sugar, caramel, a light spice, and possibly some toasted macadamia nuts. A tad artificial tasting, but decent.

A fine gold rum, but for gold rums I prefer others, such as the Banks 7 Golden.

Posted 3 months ago by Mrcaress from Canada with 12 ratings

Rum from Hawaii?!? Why not! Place is paradise so it should be able to do everything. Great off the start, very easy. Gets a bit bitter going down, but finishes with easy after taste. Not an offensive or strong one. But it doesn’t have an unique taste, however still very easy to drink. Good one to share with a nephew who lacks self confidence, but somehow still gets a lot of girls

Posted 3 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 22 ratings

Enjoyable rum. Nice taste and can be drank on it's own and with your favorite mix.

Posted 4 months ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Lamentablemente el color no es nada prometedor, opaco.
En nariz no se percibe nada, solo un poco de alcohol.
En boca suave, terriblemente bidimensional, sin gracia. El sabor desaparece del paladar a los pocos segundos.

Posted about 1 year ago by lonefalcon from United States with 18 ratings

Nothing too fancy, but quite a solid mixing rum. There are some better ones out there for the price, however.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Koloa Kaua'i Gold Rum bottle and label design looks very nice and artsy. Light amber color. There is some unmatured alcohol to the nose and palate with a hint of sweetness most likely from honey. Some burn at the end. Mix it with your favorite soda and down it goes. Not a neat sipper really.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Nothing special here. A bit medicinal, slightly artificial-tasting. OK for mixed drinks, but not a great value.

Posted almost 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Beautiful golden color and nice aroma. Very taste and smooth for a golden rum. Would have rated it higher but it is a little pricy. For the same money can get a nice 5 - 12 year rum. The dark koloa rum is worth trying and I am trying to get my hands on the koloa coffee rum to try.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum is fairly expensive, being more than twice as costly as a good Caribbean / Central American rum, so I was expecting something good. Instead... this rum is colourless, odourless and flavourless. It is very "thin", and while i's fine in a Rum and Cola, it adds no flavour / character.

Posted over 5 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Decent gold rum, a mixer only, for me. Good with coke.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice and smooth for daily drinks




#