Posting your rating...
Koloa Dark rum

Koloa Dark

United States | Dark

Koloa Dark rum, a version of their White Rum with added caramel color and flavors. Bottled unaged at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.1/10 (46 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
3
7
8
17
2
4

Rate Koloa Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Koloa Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I think Koloa is one of the best American rum makers. This dark rum is my favorite of all dark rums.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, chocolate, caramel, and spice. Perfect at 40%abv and quite easy drinking straight. An amazing rum from Koloa!

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This is the best dark rum I have ever had. Don't get me wrong, I would rather have a good aged rum but if you want a dark rum then this is one. Great dark color, excellent aroma and great taste if little after burn.

963c64b8333160ccc559949b01490841.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by cK from Canada with 62 ratings

I certainly was not expecting the best mixing rum I've had to be from anywhere but the Caribbean. However, Koala Dark wins that prize. This vanilla flavoured rum with hints of coffee and chocolate was amazing mixed with coke, but was also surprisingly good over rocks or straight. Not quite as sophisticated a finish as more expensive rums, but still incredible.

05cd6d12b2cad4ddbe8ac620387602c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 10 ratings

Put me in the minority that enjoyed this on the rocks as much as I did in a mai tai. I prefer a sweeter profile, and this delivers. Nice, deep caramel and molasses on the nose that carries through the palette. It might lack the complexity of some of the finer aged rums, and the price runs on the high side outside Hawaii, but I would consider this to be a special spiced rum.

Fe0b4c97cce0432df642920cb06680b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rummythegilly from Canada with 5 ratings

Vanilla overkill. Bit expensive and too sweet like all the koala rums. Nice to taste but wouldn’t buy again.

1c6488ee1589ac2651db079b802e06d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

All I could taste was sweet sweet sweet. Had some interesting floral notes, which was intriguing, but I just could not get past the sweetness. Would probably be okay in mixed drinks, but would absolutely not recommend with Coke.

43667773819a5ce6a99478eee3d94bcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Frank Taylor (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

Although it makes a fabulous float, it is too good (and costly) to be used on a mai tai. Never use it as a mixer, a waste of money and great rum. By far the best rum out of Hawaii. Almost a desert liqueur, as it is somewhat sweet, but it is fabulous on the rocks at the end of your evening, being smooth, rich, and flavorful.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A nice sweet rum with an interestingly pleasant aroma in the bottle. It has distinct molasses and vanilla flavors. Although not a sipping rum, this would be fantastic in mixed drinks calling for dark rum. Definitely recommended.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 21 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

This is ok. Smooth but too sweet. Short finish. Overpriced. Tastes like there are additives.

5ca2462f9b87f4e482b56b5d8086bdfd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 24 days ago by blowpez from United States with 9 ratings

An excellent rum bursting with natural caramel and vanilla flavors. A good sipper but this really shines as a mixer with coke or ginger beer.