Posting your rating...
Koloa Dark rum

Koloa Dark

United States | Dark

Koloa Dark rum, a version of their White Rum with added caramel color and flavors. Bottled unaged at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.1/10
49 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
7
9
17
3
4

Rate Koloa Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Koloa Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

Another hard to find rum unless on the west coast. I fell in love with this one sipping it down in the Keys. It has a very unique taste. I would imagine you could make some great mixed drinks with it such as mai tai's. I personally enjoy sipping it and getting the great taste of sugar cane from Hawaii.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I think Koloa is one of the best American rum makers. This dark rum is my favorite of all dark rums.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, chocolate, caramel, and spice. Perfect at 40%abv and quite easy drinking straight. An amazing rum from Koloa!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This is the best dark rum I have ever had. Don't get me wrong, I would rather have a good aged rum but if you want a dark rum then this is one. Great dark color, excellent aroma and great taste if little after burn.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 65 ratings

I certainly was not expecting the best mixing rum I've had to be from anywhere but the Caribbean. However, Koala Dark wins that prize. This vanilla flavoured rum with hints of coffee and chocolate was amazing mixed with coke, but was also surprisingly good over rocks or straight. Not quite as sophisticated a finish as more expensive rums, but still incredible.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 10 ratings

Put me in the minority that enjoyed this on the rocks as much as I did in a mai tai. I prefer a sweeter profile, and this delivers. Nice, deep caramel and molasses on the nose that carries through the palette. It might lack the complexity of some of the finer aged rums, and the price runs on the high side outside Hawaii, but I would consider this to be a special spiced rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rummythegilly from Canada with 5 ratings

Vanilla overkill. Bit expensive and too sweet like all the koala rums. Nice to taste but wouldn’t buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

All I could taste was sweet sweet sweet. Had some interesting floral notes, which was intriguing, but I just could not get past the sweetness. Would probably be okay in mixed drinks, but would absolutely not recommend with Coke.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 28 GPL. Surprisingly good rum at a reasonable price ($35. USD)
Normally, dark rums are for mixing and you wouldn't think of sipping them as most are "well rums" but this rum surprised and impressed me. I found tastes of vanilla, chocolate,coffee, and caramel are present but the coffee and chocolate are predominant. This is a smooth rum that finishes with just the right amount of heat. I would suggest this is the best dark rum for mixing out there, but I am going to serve this as a sipping rum. If you like Goslings Family Reserve rum then you will like this one.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Frank Taylor from United States with 5 ratings

Although it makes a fabulous float, it is too good (and costly) to be used on a mai tai. Never use it as a mixer, a waste of money and great rum. By far the best rum out of Hawaii. Almost a desert liqueur, as it is somewhat sweet, but it is fabulous on the rocks at the end of your evening, being smooth, rich, and flavorful.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A nice sweet rum with an interestingly pleasant aroma in the bottle. It has distinct molasses and vanilla flavors. Although not a sipping rum, this would be fantastic in mixed drinks calling for dark rum. Definitely recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by MonsterCaesar from Canada with 1 rating

It tastes like sweetened vanilla extract. It is very smooth and easy to drink, but all I can taste is vanilla. Not as sweet as I expected from reading other reviews (I find Dictator much sweeter) but its hard to find the rum under the overpowering vanilla.

I will say it is possible I got a bad batch. Of the bottles of Koloa dark available, the colour of the rum varied greatly between bottles. Some as dark as coffee, others were a light amber. I choose a darker bottle. I would be curious to compare it to one of the light amber bottles, but at $75 CAD I cant justify that.