Posting your rating...
Kilo Kai Spiced rum

Rate Kilo Kai Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


55 Kilo Kai Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Johnny from United States with 1 rating

I drink it straight mostly, but imagine it's good in coke. Initially I loved the smoothness, vanilla flavor, and slight burn...I am drinking some now reading some reviews about it tasting like soap, and I'll be damned if that next drink didn't taste like a mouthful of soap...that is some kind of mind trick, I'm cleansing the palet and trying again. This is one of the best tasting rums I've ever had.

Posted over 3 years ago by Zach from United States with 10 ratings

Shipped a bottle of kilo kai as we don't sell it locally. Smell reminds me of root beer/cream soda. Smooth rum with a very good taste overall. I kinda see what others are alluding to with the soapy taste though. Only had it straight thus far..I'll drink some more later in a mixed beverage. So far so good though.

Posted over 3 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Very smooth... Nose of maybe pepper? But vanilla flavor. The more i drink it, the more "ok" it is.

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Smooth, buttery flavor with dark sugar, vanilla, butterscotch, candied orange, and spice. Cheap, sweet, very mixable, and a treat on its own. For what you pay, it can be a part of every bar.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

The nose of this rum is very smooth with hints of nutmeg, cinamon, vanilla, oak and possibly anise. The flavor is smooth with little astringency. I taste all of the above spices. Initially I liked this pretty good but the more I drank it the more it started to disappoint. It may have just been that my taste buds were off but it almost had a medicinal taste.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

This is a rum to go with coke its flavorful and its one of the best spiced rum ive had

Posted about 4 years ago by Car Birch from United States with 10 ratings

It's a tasty rum, but extremely sweet! It's almost like a dessert rum. You could drink this after a nice dinner to fulfill your sweet cravings. It's got some good flavors, most are over shadowed by sugar. Sill tasty nonetheless. It'd drink it again though.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

For those who gave this rum a 10....what are you guys smokin'?!?

This ain't even close to a ten.

You want good spiced rums go with Sailor Jerry's spiced rum or El Dorado spiced rum or Old New Orleans Cajun spiced rum or Bayou spiced rum or Black Coral spiced rum or Siesta Key spiced rum. All of which are LIGHT YEARS better than the crap found in Kilo Kai.

Those all blow Kilo Kai straight outta the water. And straight into the dumpster where it belongs.

Whoever allowed this rum to market should be indicted and found guilty of some crime. Felonious assault on the taste buds?

I knew I was in trouble the moment I took a sniff and found its odor resembling a cheap aromatherapy candle found in just about every mall. Forcing myself to sip a little I discovered that it's overloaded with not only a strong imitation vanilla extract flavor but it also has a soapy flavor to it as well.

Awful.

Down the drain it goes.

If you come across this, do not pass go, do not collect $200 and do not under any circumstances buy a bottle of this. Not even to play a prank on your buddies.

I prefer Kilo Kai Spiced :

| In mixed drinks | On the rocks | Straight up | With cola | As far away from me as possible

Guess which I choose.

[I also question those ratings of 7, 8, and 9.]

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I tasted a piece of sugarcane straight from the field once, and this rum took me back to that flavour. I like the sweetness, I found it a bit light on the spice, and it seemed a bit thin and watery straight up. There was also a bitter aftertaste almost like an artificial sweetener. I think I am going to save the rest of this bottle for summer when the lighter body and sweet flavour will be more refreshing.

Well summer is just about over and I still have this bottle of rum. I just can't get past the aftertaste, whether it's artificial vanilla or something else it just doesn't have a good finish.
I will give it a home next to my half bottle of CM Tattoo

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 1 rating

My favorite rum very smooth and has a great taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

Not what I expected from the high ratings (10's) I have read.
Is sweet - vanilla, cherry, caramel a spice? Hard to find any spice for all the sweet.
It reminds me of cherry cough syrup. Smooth with a slight burn in the throat. Mix it with Cola if you like Cherry Coke. I'll stick Sailor Jerry.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

From the bottle it literally smells exactly like dubble bubble gum. Its color is so nice in the bottle but it says "caramel color" on the bottle so I cant give it any points for that. In the glencarin glass it smells of ethanol, no oak cask smell in there, that bubble gum smell again almost banana like, definitely a lot of spice. Drinking it straight all I can say is holy ship that is smooth. Abnormally smooth entry then the spice kicks in to a very pleasant and bold point and lingers. All flavors are amazingly balanced with a sweet taste. This is by far the best spiced rum I ever had it is best straight in my opinion.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I feel the Kilo Kai lives up to it's label as the best rum straight. It is smooth with quite a bit of character. A bit sweet, but smooth. I usually don't use this as a mix, I use Captain Morgan for that. Although I have mixed with Cherry schnapps for a great combination in a shot. I like this one a lot.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoyed it's smooth and sweet taste. Went well with Cola

Posted almost 5 years ago by Larry from United States with 4 ratings

Just one of the best spiced rums I have had....found it on a whim in Aruba

Posted about 5 years ago by Rudy from Netherlands with 3 ratings

This is one of the smoothest spiced rum i've had so far. Mixed very well with cola.

Posted about 5 years ago by Rudy Tamayo from United States with 10 ratings

This is easily the tastiest and smoothest spiced runs I've ever had. Tastes great with a cola. It's a tad sweet but just the right amount and not too overbearing. Out of the gate this rum smells amazing. Vanilla and I believe a slight cherry scent.

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik Deckers from United States with 8 ratings

This one is definitely sweet, but not sickly sweet. It doesn't taste like someone poured sugar into it. It's got a slightly sweet taste, which makes it a nice entry point for someone who's learning to enjoy sipping rum, and wants to make a transition from "college rum."

It's very smooth and goes down easy on its own.

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin from United States with 1 rating

Smoothest rum I have ever tasted. Mixing it with any sort of cherry soda is a perfect mix.

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik V from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Captain Morgan, Sailor Jerry en The Kraken....Eat your heart out!!
Eén van de betere spiced rum die ik gedronken heb.

Topper met veel vanille

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brian from United States with 1 rating

Really enjoy this with a cold coke. Sweet, with molasses throughout.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ben Brassard from United States with 1 rating

If I wanted to mix rum with Jaeger...I would have. This is LITERALLY the worst rum I've ever tasted.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

All the notes they say it has, you can notice. A very unsung hero of Spiced rums.

Posted about 6 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

I am a huge spice rum drinker. Kilo is my favorite thus far. A great tasting rum when consumed neat. Flavor really pops when mixed with coke.- I am adding/not editing my review. I have tried 5 local liquor stores here in s.w. florida and none can get anymore:( very sad.. I loved this rum.