Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (264 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
36
94
93
14
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


264 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

Brought back from Jamaica by my parents many years ago and has sat in my liquor cabinet ever since gathering dust. With my new found love of fine aged rums, I decided to give this a try neat. Nose has alcohol and just a bit of Bourbon barel. Palate has spice and not much else. Not a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I will reserve 1's for rums I can't finish. With great effort, I did finish the bottle, but not until I dumped a few packets of raw sugar into it. I bought this at Sam's Club because of the $16 price. While I knew this would be no sipper, I thought, based on reputation and reviews I was buying a good mixer. Nope. This stuff was awful. It tasted like it had been aged in cardboard, not oak. I'm not exaggerating. It tasted like wet cardboard, or I what I presume wet cardboard to taste like. And that taste over powered even the drinks I tried making it with it. The taste cut through coke, ginger ale, and even fruit juices. It just made me mad drinking it. I was going to pour the rest down the sink, but about that time I was reading about the added sugar controversy and how some folks had experimented by adding sugar to some of their low end rums to see how it improved taste. So I added some sugar, and it did cut the overpowering cardboard taste down enough to mask it with mixers. I know this is the low end of the Appleton's line and they make some better rums, but I'll wait to try those on someone else's dime.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This is the first aged rum I'd come across. I tried it while in Jamaica on a cruise and absolutely loved it. Bought a few small bottles to bring back. I've been hooked on aged rum ever since. This one is pretty smooth with a bit of a harsh finish, but the flavors are outstanding. Not your typical rum with strong sweetness. This is refreshingly flavorful. Unique to say the least.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Light brown
Flavor :vanilla, toffee, caramel, maple syrup, marmalade & ripe fruits
Palate : Dry, light with some spice flavor.

Its a good rum on its own and can be blended easily.

Recommended cocktails : Mai-Tai, Zombie, Rum Sour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Naturally sweet, with some (but not too much) of the familiar Jamaican funk. This rum, btw, is miraculous in Mai-Tais, paired with an aged agricole and the required mixers. Don't sell this stuff short. It's a work-horse in the Tiki cocktail world.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother generously brought this back to me after a Caribbean cruise. I was quite new in the rum world and this was a fun step! This introduced me to Jamaican rums, which are quite unique. I look forward to trying the older expressions of Appleton because this shows potential. It was a tad harsh on the palette while also presenting an interesting taste challenge. I noted citrus and nut as primary flavors. Drinking this straight up is preferred for the experience but mixing wouldn't be too shameful ;)

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Appleton is usually regarded with positive views. I wonder if it is really justified, while this bottle isn't bad, it isn't superb neither.

Good well around.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by James Wall from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

tastes like a Jamaican rum should, big flavours but a little bit harsh

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by NinjaHippo from United States with 18 ratings

Thumbs-up if you've been to Jamaica! This is a solid yet basic rum by which I was able to compare superior Appleton products while visiting Jamaica.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Supreme from Canada with 33 ratings

Definitely a decent rum for the price a mixed blend and a decent mixing rum as well

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I mix with. And this is the rum I sip on when traveling. The VX is an amazingly well balanced rum for the price. It is simple. The aroma is simple and sweet. The drink is simple with light vanilla flavor. The finish is lasting and simple with some spice on it. Anyone I introduce to aged rum gets this sample first. They can spend $20 and spend the night smiling away at the deal they got.