Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (268 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
37
96
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


268 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is good for those who are looking to move up from the standard bar selections, great mixer, very good with a squeeze of lime and a pinch of sugar, and it is tolerable as a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I will reserve 1's for rums I can't finish. With great effort, I did finish the bottle, but not until I dumped a few packets of raw sugar into it. I bought this at Sam's Club because of the $16 price. While I knew this would be no sipper, I thought, based on reputation and reviews I was buying a good mixer. Nope. This stuff was awful. It tasted like it had been aged in cardboard, not oak. I'm not exaggerating. It tasted like wet cardboard, or I what I presume wet cardboard to taste like. And that taste over powered even the drinks I tried making it with it. The taste cut through coke, ginger ale, and even fruit juices. It just made me mad drinking it. I was going to pour the rest down the sink, but about that time I was reading about the added sugar controversy and how some folks had experimented by adding sugar to some of their low end rums to see how it improved taste. So I added some sugar, and it did cut the overpowering cardboard taste down enough to mask it with mixers. I know this is the low end of the Appleton's line and they make some better rums, but I'll wait to try those on someone else's dime.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This is the first aged rum I'd come across. I tried it while in Jamaica on a cruise and absolutely loved it. Bought a few small bottles to bring back. I've been hooked on aged rum ever since. This one is pretty smooth with a bit of a harsh finish, but the flavors are outstanding. Not your typical rum with strong sweetness. This is refreshingly flavorful. Unique to say the least.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Light brown
Flavor :vanilla, toffee, caramel, maple syrup, marmalade & ripe fruits
Palate : Dry, light with some spice flavor.

Its a good rum on its own and can be blended easily.

Recommended cocktails : Mai-Tai, Zombie, Rum Sour.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by legwoods from Canada with 2 ratings

Excellent Basic Rum for your rum/cola. Grenat flavor

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Naturally sweet, with some (but not too much) of the familiar Jamaican funk. This rum, btw, is miraculous in Mai-Tais, paired with an aged agricole and the required mixers. Don't sell this stuff short. It's a work-horse in the Tiki cocktail world.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother generously brought this back to me after a Caribbean cruise. I was quite new in the rum world and this was a fun step! This introduced me to Jamaican rums, which are quite unique. I look forward to trying the older expressions of Appleton because this shows potential. It was a tad harsh on the palette while also presenting an interesting taste challenge. I noted citrus and nut as primary flavors. Drinking this straight up is preferred for the experience but mixing wouldn't be too shameful ;)

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Appleton is usually regarded with positive views. I wonder if it is really justified, while this bottle isn't bad, it isn't superb neither.

Good well around.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by James Wall from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

tastes like a Jamaican rum should, big flavours but a little bit harsh

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by E_Winston from United States with 17 ratings

This bottle holds special place for me last rum my dad and I shared before he passed away. Rum was a favorite of his

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Inoffensive.

Nothing here to rave about.
Nothing here to complain about.
Squeeze of lime and a splash of juice and it’s perfectly acceptable.