Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


256 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I've heard appleton is a great brand but at least this one is not to my taste. Perhaps the more expensive ones are

Posted over 3 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I will reserve 1's for rums I can't finish. With great effort, I did finish the bottle, but not until I dumped a few packets of raw sugar into it. I bought this at Sam's Club because of the $16 price. While I knew this would be no sipper, I thought, based on reputation and reviews I was buying a good mixer. Nope. This stuff was awful. It tasted like it had been aged in cardboard, not oak. I'm not exaggerating. It tasted like wet cardboard, or I what I presume wet cardboard to taste like. And that taste over powered even the drinks I tried making it with it. The taste cut through coke, ginger ale, and even fruit juices. It just made me mad drinking it. I was going to pour the rest down the sink, but about that time I was reading about the added sugar controversy and how some folks had experimented by adding sugar to some of their low end rums to see how it improved taste. So I added some sugar, and it did cut the overpowering cardboard taste down enough to mask it with mixers. I know this is the low end of the Appleton's line and they make some better rums, but I'll wait to try those on someone else's dime.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This is the first aged rum I'd come across. I tried it while in Jamaica on a cruise and absolutely loved it. Bought a few small bottles to bring back. I've been hooked on aged rum ever since. This one is pretty smooth with a bit of a harsh finish, but the flavors are outstanding. Not your typical rum with strong sweetness. This is refreshingly flavorful. Unique to say the least.

Posted over 6 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Light brown
Flavor :vanilla, toffee, caramel, maple syrup, marmalade & ripe fruits
Palate : Dry, light with some spice flavor.

Its a good rum on its own and can be blended easily.

Recommended cocktails : Mai-Tai, Zombie, Rum Sour.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Naturally sweet, with some (but not too much) of the familiar Jamaican funk. This rum, btw, is miraculous in Mai-Tais, paired with an aged agricole and the required mixers. Don't sell this stuff short. It's a work-horse in the Tiki cocktail world.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

My brother generously brought this back to me after a Caribbean cruise. I was quite new in the rum world and this was a fun step! This introduced me to Jamaican rums, which are quite unique. I look forward to trying the older expressions of Appleton because this shows potential. It was a tad harsh on the palette while also presenting an interesting taste challenge. I noted citrus and nut as primary flavors. Drinking this straight up is preferred for the experience but mixing wouldn't be too shameful ;)

Posted over 7 years ago by Renaudco from Canada with 15 ratings

Appleton is usually regarded with positive views. I wonder if it is really justified, while this bottle isn't bad, it isn't superb neither.

Good well around.

Posted over 7 years ago by James Wall from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

tastes like a Jamaican rum should, big flavours but a little bit harsh

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I mix with. And this is the rum I sip on when traveling. The VX is an amazingly well balanced rum for the price. It is simple. The aroma is simple and sweet. The drink is simple with light vanilla flavor. The finish is lasting and simple with some spice on it. Anyone I introduce to aged rum gets this sample first. They can spend $20 and spend the night smiling away at the deal they got.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Mit diesem Rum habe ich meine Unschuld verloren.
Habe in den "90er" Jahren diesen Rum nach Hause gebracht,
als es Hierzulande nur Coruba, Bacardi und Stroh-Rum im Handel gab.
Da habe ich bemerkt das Rum etwas leckeres sein kann.
Etwas deftig in der Nase, im Mund jedoch Aromen von Zuckerrohr, Karamell, Toffee.
Im Abgang alles schnell weg.

With this rum I lost my innocence.
In the "90s" I brought this rum home,
As there were only Coruba, Bacardi, and Stroh-Rum in the market.
Since I noticed, that rum something delicious can be.
Slightly strong in the nose, in the mouth however aromas of sugar cane, caramel, toffee.
In the finish, everything is quickly gone.

Posted over 3 years ago by david from Australia with 8 ratings

A nice one from Appleton that is a tad harsh and could do with a few more years inside the barrel but with a dash of lime to take off the edge it still goes down well

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Good rum for cocktails. The aging process gives it more body but no more.

Posted over 6 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

"tasting notes"...super market, it has colour and flavour...some notes, maybe flat or sharp, not to shabby for a super market rum, really nice when mixed with 2x apple juice...

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Mix with 1/2 a lime and some cane juice and you have a great daiquiri with just enough cask flavor to stand out and give some depth. Not too shabby.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

If you want a good example of the Jamaican style, this is a good way to go at about half the price (in most areas) of the 12 year.

Posted 30 days ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

This rum is not widely available in the Netherlands and bought it online. For the price class it is in I had better rums although that can be personal taste. It’s not bad but also not I’m going to buy it again.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum à boire avec un accompagnement, du coke ou 7up ou en drink.

Posted 3 months ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

Best I've had at this pricepoint. Top shelf mixer, and can be enjoyed neat or on the rocks...but not as smooth neat or on the rocks as some others that can be had for $10 more. Tried it with sone friends right from the bottle, on a very cold night outdoors. We warmed the bottle over the fire and it was very good that way....or it could have been the situation and company

Posted 4 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

Light nose. Very strong alcohol taste and a nice heat that lingers for quite awhile. Enjoyable with a strong alcohol taste.

Posted 5 months ago by FaithMonax from Canada with 13 ratings

I love the smoothness of this rum. My go-to for cocktails, as it is both cheap & good!

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Buen ron para cocktails. Blend de 5 a 10 anos. Buen color y aromas.

Posted at The L Garage 8 months ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

This is a flexible rum. I can happily sip it neat, I can mix it up. I don't feel like it's too fancy for mixing, but also not too low-brow to sip.

Nice golden color. Light orange aroma, with other flavors peeking through. There's no mistaking the Jamaican in this one. Nice flavor on the tongue, not sweet, light bite. Lingers a bit when you swallow.
Nice inexpensive rum, one I think would be at home in any rum collection.

Posted 9 months ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 19 ratings

Step up from the cheaper rums .....much more prefer the 12 year old Appleton !

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

It is a good rum, and in classic Appleton style - but not as good as the 12yo. Lacks some of the complexity, and structure. A bit raw.

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

It gets the job done better than other inexpensive rums.